Is it Friday yet?

Whew, this week is really starting to get to me. Between work, school, running/exercise, household chores, paying the bills, and a few other things, I’m really starting to feel overwhelmed. I feel lost sometimes because it seems like I take care of everything and no one takes care of me 😦 But that’s not true, now, is it?

“The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want.” – Psalm 23:1. It’s as simple as that. Pity party is over.

Anyway, the good news is that I’m not letting the stress affect how I eat. There have been times in the past, even recent past, that I have succumbed to emotional eating. And it’s dangerous. Luckily, when it has happened, I have been able to recognize it and move past it. I know there are people out there struggling every day though and my heart goes out to them.

After that 5 mile workout yesterday, I was quite hungry for lunch!

Leftover chicken, mixed veggies, mini-bagel, habanero ketchup

Leftover chicken, mixed veggies, mini-bagel, habanero ketchup

 

I also devoured a pear so quickly that I managed not to even think about taking a picture of it, haha!

Later on in the afternoon, I tried what I think is a new yogurt for me: Stonyfield fat free Black Cherry

1225cd3b17e9

b1fcdd3798f7

The consistency was a bit thicker than some of the other Stonyfield’s, I think its mostly the lowfat vanilla that is so runny. However, I’m a really big cherry yogurt fan and this one was not my favorite. I can’t put my finger on exactly what it was, but I don’t think I’ll get it again.

Also had an apple. It was a big fruit day for me!

1144b988e1ae

Girl’s Night Potluck was another big hit! Every now and then, we really hit the jack pot and last night was no exception…

4d5c05867e56

Margie’s Corn fritters were amazing! One of them was actually a potato fritter (at the bottom of the plate) made with mashed potatoes, mmm. I also made an effort to try and catch up my veggie intake with the fruit I had consumed yesterday 🙂 We had peas and a nice mix of broccoli, carrots, and beans (including my favorite, garbanzos!). I had seconds on veggies, just FYI. 😉

It was my turn to do dessert this week and I decided to splurge a bit. Well, the strawberries were on sale as was the granola. But still, you’ll catch my drift.

Strawberries, french vanilla ice cream, chocolate granola, oh my!

Strawberries, french vanilla ice cream, chocolate granola, oh my!

Not only was this an AMAZING dessert, but I also got to try two new products:

1e0c6b496026

I’m almost convinced that this is the best ice cream I’ve ever had and it’s non-dairy! I have pretty much loved everything I have tried from the So Delicious brand and I can’t wait to keep exploring. The vanilla flavor almost tasted like french vanilla, I even think my husband might like this (its his favorite flavor) as long as I don’t show him the container. Plus, its totally crap free; I can’t stand the ice creams that are full of so much artificial junk, even if they are lower in calories or fat. A half-cup of this is only 130 calories and 3g of fat, by the way!

e3f3d1d23fd3

Best…granola…ever!

I’ve had chocolate granola before and found it too bland or chewy, but now that I’ve had this Kashi Cocoa Beach, I don’t think I’ll ever go back! My friend Courtney put it best when she said that it reminded her of “Cocoa Krispies, only healthier.” Seriously good stuff. Chocolately, crunchy, and crap free too.

So good in fact, that I went back for another half serving of dessert.

weddessert2

Then it was tea time! Court has quite a tea stash and last night I had my usual peppermint while we watched the new episode of South Park, good Lord.

Hope you all had a good night too 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 12, 2009, in Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, products, Snacks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. ohhhhhh those potluck pics made me so hungry lol…yuuuums!

    I can’t wait till the day that I can stop my emotional eating…I am an emotional eater, taste eater, hungry eater ETC! my family calls me the “endless pit”. Thank God for my workouts if not I think I would be 400lbs by now ha

    I agree with this “I know there are people out there struggling every day though and my heart goes out to them”. The other day I was going to my 2nd job and I was just in a funk and I said outloud “BE HAPPY YOU HAVE 2 JOBS WHEN SOME PEOPLE CAN NOT EVEN FIND ONE!”

  2. I agree with the previous commenter! I am also a “bottomless pit!” And that if I didn’t exercise, I too would be at LEAST 400 lbs!! Funny. Or not!

    I have GOT to find some of that So Delicious ice cream! Your dessert looks similar to mine twice now this week: I had ff vanilla frozen yogurt, sliced strawberries, and Kashi Crunch cereal…so delicious!

    And yay for girl’s night potluck! How fun!

  3. Sorry about all the stress – don’t forget to take some time for yourself!!

    Stonyfield yogurt is pretty runny, I agree! That dessert = amazing!! Nice creation 🙂

Leave a Reply

