30, 8, 22

When it comes to exercise, when in doubt, do a little of everything! That worked for me today. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to run or use the elliptical so I did both. And some biking too! Plus some abs.

Let’s back up though…

2256cea27af3

Breakfast today was a green monster (a la Angela) and some whole wheat toast with peanut butter and strawberries (a la Mari). I did like the strawberries with the PB toast, but it worked better for me to eat the strawberry, then take a bite of toast. If I took a bite of the strawberry on the toast, I couldn’t really taste the PB. Ya feel me?

Mid-morning, I started to get rather hungry and instead of ignoring it and trying to hold off until lunch, I went ahead and ate a snack. Sometimes you just have to honor your hunger…plus, I don’t want to pay for it later with late-night snack-raiding.

b65c1fad834b

Skyr.is Strawberry yogurt

I found this goodie at Whole Foods when I went on a massive yogurt raid a couple weeks back. It’s a little pricey, but I was intrigued by the container, the fact that it’s from Iceland, and the fact that this container of yogurt has 150 calories and 16 g protein!

Let’s take a closer look…

57731a8b443d

It is thick like greek yogurt and pretty much tastes like it too. Actually, I’m pretty sure this is THE BEST strawberry yogurt I’ve ever had. Ever.

87366ae01f9a

It comes with a spoon and a plastic lid to cover the container back up incase you can’t finish it all and want to save it for later (which I totally did today). Half the container filled me up enough for a mid-morning snack and I saved the rest for this afternoon 🙂

I’ve emailed the company in hopes of getting some more samples. I couldn’t find any other flavors at my WF and since they are so expensive, I’d rather test them first. But I will say, I’d totally pay the price for this strawberry again, easily!

Lunch was leftovers only awesome-ized. Can you tell I’m jazzed that it’s Friday?

464c5cd8da93

Leftover pork “thingies”, 1/2 sweet potato with cinnamon, and some Minute brown rice (love this stuff). This was part 1.

845ac1aa40ed

Part 2 was 1/2 a large grapefruit with a drizzle of honey and cinnamon sprinkled on top and heated in the micro for 30 seconds. Delicious! And it took me forever to eat, even with my nifty little grapefruit spoon 🙂

About an hour after lunch, I felt this rush of energy and realized I hadn’t been for a workout yet today, haha. So off I went!

I wanted to run today but all the treadmills were taken when I got there. So I hopped on the elliptical and kept checking over my shoulder to see if anyone got off. I kept upping my resistance (levels 5-9, ramp at 10) and was sweating up a storm before long. After 30 super-sweaty minutes, I jumped off and got on a bike to read my new Health magazine. After 8 minutes there, someone finally left the treadmill so I quickly jumped up and claimed it. I walked for 2 minutes because I am weird and like even numbers (the 2 minute helped the bike time equal 10), and then I ran for 18 minutes and walked 2 more = 22 minutes on the treadmill.

That’s 60 minutes of cardio, woo hoo!

Afterwards, I did some major stretching and a couple of quick ab exercises = 10 minutes.

I’ve gotta run but I hope everyone has a great weekend and thanks for the bread tips, I’ll let you know what I end up with!!

Happy Friday 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 13, 2009, in Breakfast, exercise, Lunch, products, Snacks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. oh you tried it! I prepher to chop the strawberries much smaller so it does not overpower the taste of the sandwich, if that makes sense lol

    great workout!!! and I am the same way when I workout! I can never finish at 42 mins or 29 min etc, I have to round it off to 45 or 30 min, even if I have to march in place for the remaining minutes or stretch a little longer lol

    have a great weekend =)

  2. I’m with Mari – when I used to put strawberries on my PB sandwiches I sliced them REALLY thin in the circular direction (lengthwise I guess?!).

    Thanks for the yogurt review – I’ve been eying those! Glad to know they’re good 🙂

  3. I want to find that yogurt! I’ve never seen it in stores around here!

Leave a Reply

