Calling all bread lovers!

I am almost out of bread and hoping to buy some more at the store tonight. Here’s the deal: I have been using the same kind for a while now (Healthy Life soft style 100% whole wheat) so I’m getting a little burned out by it and also it doesn’t match up nutritionally to what I usually prefer my breads to have, mostly in that it doesn’t have enough fiber (only 3 g for 2 slices). But it’s been on sale so I’ve justified it until now.

Here are my requirements:

  • No HFCS
  • At least 3g fiber per slice (not per 2)
  • Less than 100 calories per slice
  • 100% whole wheat/grain
  • Not too expensive (like under or around $3)

Can you help me?

Leave a comment with your favorite store-bought bread even if it doesn’t meet the above, I just want to know 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 13, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Hey Sarah, I actually just went on their website and contacted them! They were super nice! Link them to your food blog! My favorite kind of bread is Double Fiber by Oroweat. Do you have Oroweat in your neck of the woods?

  2. I usually buy Wonder Bread made with Whole Wheat. this is the nutrition:
    http://www.wonderbread.com/#/products/wheat_breads/whole_grain_wheat

    AND

    Wonderbread Lite Wheat bread:
    http://www.wonderbread.com/#/products/wheat_breads/light_wheat

    AND for bagels:
    Pepperidge Farms 100 Calorie Whole Grain Mini Bagels
    http://www.pepperidgefarm.com/ProductDetail.aspx?catID=748&prdID=120528

    I love bread! ha

  3. Here’s my ultimate fav: http://arnold.gwbakeries.com/product.cfm/upc/7341002567

    It’s delish – whole wheat with a slight honey tone to it!

  4. I don’t eat much bread, but I buy Healthy Life High Fiber Bread.

    Per slice: 35 cals, 0 fat, 2 gr fiber, 2 gr protein.

  5. What are your thoughts on teens counting calories and worrying about weight. Or should they just eat healthy.

  6. Hi Alex,

    I’m not an expert, so I think the best thing for a teen would be to talk to their parents and a doctor. But I will give you my opinion.

    Since teenagers are still growing people and not yet adults, I don’t think calorie counting is the best idea. However, when I was a teenager, I only ate junk food and fast food, so that is not good either.

    I think a teen’s focus should be on healthy eating, lots of grains, protein, fruits & veggies and also to exercise in fun ways like playing sports or walking/jogging. Definitely decrease the amount of television and video games, which makes kids sedentary and more likely to sit on the couch with unhealthy snacks.

    If a teen were overweight or obese though, I would be concerned but definitely get recommendations from a doctor first before calorie counting or changing anything. Hope that helps.

    Thanks,
    Sarah

Leave a Reply

