Must have been the air

The good news is that whatever was “bugging” me yesterday is gone! By the time I left work, I had all but convinced myself that I was just going to do something easy like ride the bike or walk on the treadmill instead of run (not that those two things are easy, but they are less intense than running). But as soon as I left my building and starting walking over to the gym, I got a renewed energy! Must’ve been whatever is in the air over here.

I hopped on the treadmill and ran a mile, then walked for 2 minutes to drink some water (only reason I stopped was thirst), and then finished another 2 miles after that before I cooled down. I could’ve done more, and my partner did (because she rocks), but I didn’t want to push it especially if I’m coming down with something. I must’ve sweated out all the toxins because I felt great! That feeling carried over the rest of the night and to today. Although I did get in bed before 10:00 last night, just to be safe ๐Ÿ˜‰

Time: 50:00

Distance: 3.75 miles

Running Pace: 12:11/mile (calculated this before cool down, 3.12 miles in 38 minutes, the 0.12 was walking at 3.8 for 2 min)

Calories: about 300 (I’m going to start assuming 80 calories per mile)

Before leaving work for my run, I had a Kashi bar because I was so not in the mood for yogurt (whaaa?!):

0a26b25fd98b

And I’m just now realizing how small they actually are, hmm…

7542cb5cb114

But it did a good job of holding me over and fueling me through the workout. After I ran, I did a TON of stretching my legs, arms, back, etc. Then I had a few extra minutes so I got two quick sets of bicep curls + shoulder presses and triceps extensions in (using 10 lb weights). I have heard so many good things about the Jillian Michaels “30 Day Shred” DVD that I’m seriously considering getting one myself. That or its going on my birthday list (which is in May) ๐Ÿ™‚

Dinner was sort of a smorgasbord. I had originally intended to make some brown rice but I changed my mind and had another mini-bagel for my grain serving with dinner. The husband made some pork things…I’m not a big meat connoisseur, so I have no idea what parts are what. He used to be a butcher so he’s the know it all. I do ask that he gets mostly lean stuff for me though ๐Ÿ˜‰

dinner2

There were 4 pork “tenders?” on my plate, but I only ended up eating three and saving the other one (plus two more that were left) for lunch today. I also had some broccoli and half a sweet potato with cottage cheese and cinnamon.

Oh and how could I forget? I haven’t had wine in FOREVER. I just don’t buy it because I’m the only one who drinks it at home, so it seems like a waste. I do like to have it with friends though or when someone else gives it to me, as was the case tonight.

My mom got this at a conference she’d gone to and she doesn’t drink reds because they give her a headache and she knew I love them (thanks Mom)!

a02aa35e9738

Columbia Crest Two Vines Vineyard 10 Red Wine

I had never heard of this brand before, but its from Washington State. I have noticed most of my choices come either from Australia or California. So I was excited to try this one! I also wasn’t sure what to think because I searched the bottle looking for key words like “merlot”, “cabernet”, etc. Haha. I obviously don’t know wine that well.

So, I poured myself a glass to have with dinner (yes, just one). It was sweet but not too sweet. And it went down pretty smoothly, whereas some reds are a little drier or tart which always makes me squint a little even if I like the taste.

ba598b936bd7

Here’s what an expert had to say: โ€œCherry and raspberry aromas unfold from the glass. Red cherries, cola and strawberry flavors balance the fine acidity and a reveal a palate of sweet tannins. The flavors open up beautifully on the long, soft finish.โ€ –Ray Einberger, Winemaker

After dinner, Josh and I watched some taped episodes of “Man vs. Food” (on the travel channel) which is his new favorite show I think. The only thing I keep bringing up is “Okay, so I want to know his workouts because he should weigh 500 pounds” or “How often does he do these?” Haha. But I love watching all the different restaurants he goes to across the U.S. There is a German place in Columbus, OH (about 4 hours from here) that we’re thinking about driving up to one day.

For dessert, I had some grapes:

0ad06d69909e1

And then later on, some more grapes + Cinnamon Raisin PB and some sugar cookie sleigh ride tea.

458acb221a0f

Even if they are fruit based, I’ve gotta cut back on the desserts/snacks in the evening. The first cup of grapes was fine, I didn’t need a second.ย I don’t want to start that cycle again. I think its my running though that is making me feel hungrier (or making me think I am)ย so I’ve just got to keep eating enough during the day and really listening to my body (and not the mind) at night. At least its still all crap free!

Hope you had a good Thursday. And THANK GOD IT’S FRIDAY! Can I get an Amen? Haha…

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 13, 2009, in Dessert, Dinner, exercise, running, Snacks, wine and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hey Sarah! you are really kicking ass with your workout!!!

    Hey do you have exercise tv??? if so, you can check out the 30 day shred workouts there AND her two new DVD’s which are also great =)….I own 4 of her DVD’s and they are all in heavy rotation at my place…

    Ha we both love the those grapes; I had mine for bfast this am =)

  2. Sweet Potato and wine = my kind of dinner ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Glad you’re not feeling icky any more!!

  3. Great workout!! I always feel better after a workout…like I have sweated out all the toxins, just like you said! It takes a pretty good whopper of an illness to take me out of my routine.

    I’m like you with my evening eating. The past week, I have been eating so much in the evenings…like you, nothing crap-related, but food nonetheless. I really need to get my head back in it. I’m just struggling right now with the whole food thing…not sure why? I just can’t get motivated to “watch it.” I don’t know if part of me feels like I deserve it after a whole winter of chemo, or if I’m stuck in comfort food mode, or what…but it’s totally kicking my butt. I know it shouldn’t be my focus right now, but I AM disgusted with these extra 10 lbs and my lack of discipline to do anything food-wise about it!

Leave a Reply

