NY on the horizon

My trip to New York City is fast approaching! We leave Kentucky for a looong drive on March 28th. I hope I can get some sleep on the 12-hour ride but I have plenty of magazines to catch up on that should keep me occupied as well.

I looked up our hotel online today (it’s in New Jersey) and wouldn’t you know…not only do they have a fitness center in the hotel but right outside the door there is a jogging path! I’m so thrilled. I was worried about keeping up my workouts on vacation but this has given me a whole new motivation. I also plan on bringing my yoga mat and perhaps a resistance band. We’ll see. It’s only 5 days!

So now that I know I have readers from NY, I need to know: what places should I check out while I’m in the Big Apple?

We have plans to visit the Empire State Building, Metropolitan Museum of Art (a dream come true for me, I have a Bachelor’s degree in Art History), a New York Rangers game at Madison Square Garden, and either lunch or dinner at Katz’s Delicatessan (per my father in law who is a NY native).

Since I am a peanut butter fiend, I already have Peanut Butter & Co on my short list, plus Tasti D-lite since I see it so much on Sweet Eats! My husband wants to try Jive Turkey which he saw on the unfortunately titled show “Deep Fried Paradise.” Geez. But the menu actually looks pretty good and turkey is one of my favorite meats 😉

So lay it on me guys, where should I go?

After lunch today, I went for a 30-minute walk outside because it’s 75 degrees! It’s going to cool off the rest of the week so I had to take full advantage. It felt like much longer than 30 minutes so I must’ve been going fast and covering quite a bit of distance.

I’m going to the gym after work today and I’m just going to do what I can do…I’m a little sore from yesterday’s run/walk so I don’t want to push it with the race on Saturday. Hope everyone is having a good Wednesday! We are having some yummy food at Girl’s Night Potluck tonight, so stay tuned. That and you might finally get to see what I had for dinner last night, haha.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 18, 2009, in exercise, restaurants and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Check out Magnolia Bakery near Rockefeller Center… not exactly crap-free, but their world famous cupcakes should be experienced!

    It’s cheesy and screams “tourist,” but the grey line double-decker bus tours are really great. You can get a 48 or 24-hour pass for pretty cheap. My mom and I really liked the Harlem Loop tour.

  2. Sorry – never been to NY but have a BLAST!!

  3. katz is soooooo delish! Make sure you get a pastrami sandwich, they are famous for those and trust me, they are AMAZING!

    You should def check out the village which is where washington square park it located =) it is not your typical touristy area…

    hmmmmm are you going to time square? The Chevys Restaurant in TS is pretty good

    I hope you have a great time!!!!! The weather should be great by then…

    (I went to TJ’s today and picked up the lentil soup…i’ll let you know how it is once I try it)

  4. ohhhh and don’t forget CENTRAL PARK!!!!!!!!

  5. You nailed it on the head with Katz’s and PB&Co!!!!!

    I LOVE NYC! also worth a trip to see ground zero if you’ve never been 🙂

  6. and if you’re into clubbing and are of age – hit up Crobar!!! awesome techno club!

Leave a Reply

