Gum Solution!

I have been debating about gum over the past few weeks. Since I went Crap Free, I decided that sugar free gum was not an option anymore as it contains aspartame or sucralose most of the time. I also didn’t feel too comfortable gnawing on 25 calorie per piece sugary gum. Mints were not an option because the whole point of gum is that I like to chew something to keep my mouth busy.

I finally had an “ah ha!” moment at Whole Foods last weekend, when I found this gum from heaven that is a solution to all my problems!

Spry gum is sugar free but it does not contain any artificial sweeteners or ANYTHING except for xylitol, which is a all-natural sugar alcohol that reduces tooth decay!

Each piece contains just 1.7 calories and 0.72 carbohydrates from the xylitol. Each pack contains 10 pieces of gum. I have tried the spearmint (above) and cinnamon, both of which are suitable gum for me 🙂

I’m so glad to have discovered these, they were hanging in the checkout line, otherwise I might’ve forgotten to look! The only bad thing is I’m already out, uh oh. 😉

A Glimpse into My World

When I first got my camera this weekend, I took some pictures of our kitchen and dining room area. I didn’t want them to go to waste, so if you’re bored, check these out:

 

Our kitchen is tiny! Most of the time both of us can’t be in there at the same time.

I do love our huge counter top that looks into the dining room! Although sometimes it gets used as a “drop your stuff” area…

One of my favorite things about moving into this apartment last summer was there was no room for a tv in the dining room! Our old apartment had the dining room in the living room and I hated it. My husband hates this so we’re never in here very long, literally only to eat and then he’s up again!

A peek in our pantry…bet you could guess what’s mine and what’s his?

One last one…

Oh my gosh, I forgot about that flavored seltzer from Whole Foods! It was really good. I don’t do soft drinks anymore but it is all natural so it was a nice change from just plain water!

Thanks for stopping by 😉

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 19, 2009, in products and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I love this post! I have such an issue with gum! I was chewing 2 packs a day and the artificial sweeteners kill my tummy!! I have been trying to stop bringing to it work but I crave something to chew so bad. I need to buy this gum!

  2. Glad you found a gum that works for you! I’m a total gum addict!!

    Thanks for the kitchen pics! I used to eat those Kroger bagels all the time!!

  3. I am jealous of your counterspace! I live in tiny (ny)apt and I have no counters at all!!!!

    look!!!! lol

    I call it my “ki” since it is too small to be called kitchen ha! The first time I tried to cook there, I burned myself about 2 times and had a meltdown since my old place was soooo much bigger but now I can cook a 4 course meal =)

  4. Just a reminder. I just left a long message about the dangers of xylitol, which is the sweetener that is used in most of these more natural gums. Supposedly it is the best sweetener available in gums today. The main problem is, although it is not suppose to be a problem for people, XYLITOL WILL VERY QUICKLY KILL A DOG.

    It will cause seizures, severe dehydration within a few hours and liver failure within 3 days. Please lock this gum away from your dogs… throw the chewed pieces away in a closed garbage can. And don’t forget that dogs are very smart and can get into places we often don’t think of…

    If eaten try to get the dog to throw up immediately… I use 1/4 cup peroxide in cup of water and repeat as needed. It may be less for a smaller dog. I have goldens…DOG SHOULD THROW UP WITHIN 10-15 MINUTES….when dog throws up count the pieces if still there… call poison control who will then call the emergency vet and let them know what the dog needs. then take the dog to emergency vet (even if you think you got all the gum, you cannot be sure that enough was not digested to harm the dog)

    IF YOU DON’T HAVE THE POISON CONTROL NUMBER YOU CAN GET IT FROM YOUR VET OR INTERNET.. SHOULD HAVE THIS ON HAND ALONG WITH THE NUMBER FOR THE EMERGENCY VET IN YOUR AREA.

    If you do not know when the gum was eaten take to the emergency vet immediately. I just think that if you know it was recent, to soon to be digested, it is better to have them throw up the gum before it gets time to get into the dogs system. But if it has been more then an hour or so, it has probably been digested and the most important thing is to get them to the vet immediately.

    PLEASE PASS THIS INFORMATION ON TO YOUR FRIENDS AND FAMILY. AND IF YOU HAVE ANIMALS GET THE NUMBERS FOR POISON CONTROL AND YOUR LOCAL EMERGENCY VET.

    Thanks for helping me spread this information.

Leave a Reply

