Introducing Mix My Granola

A few weeks ago, I was contacted by Matt from Mix My Granola, a company founded in 2008 that helps you create your own perfect granola. You choose from their wide variety of ingredients and mix-ins and they mail the package directly to you, you even get to name it! They were very generous to offer me a chance to try my own granola and I’m very excited to be featuring them here at “See Sarah Eat.”

Each container of granola comes with its own label that includes nutrition facts about the selection you have made. You get a whopping 16-ounce container too! The best part is that all the ingredients are all-natural and preservative (aka crap) free 🙂 The main concept of this company is to create your own granola, but they also have pre-made granolas that you can choose from if you aren’t feeling as adventurous.

Another cool thing about this company is their dedication to environmental issues. They mail you the package of granola in a recyclable container and even add a little note on the outside encouraging the consumer to recycle! They also use soy-based ink on the labels so that there is less chemicals involved. How cool is that?

So now I present to you “See Sarah Eat Granola“:

newfoodpics-0111

newfoodpics-0081

As you can see, my base was french vanilla granola, then I added in dried apricots and mangoes, walnuts, pecans, chocolate mini-morsels, and oat bran flakes. Plus “lots of LOVE” which is always a good thing. I loved picking my own ingredients because oftentimes with granola or trail mix, there are 1-2 things in the mix that I wouldn’t have picked myself and would enjoy it more if they weren’t in there. Everything on my list was stuff I knew I liked but I was still a little nervous because I don’t think I had ever eaten them all together before.

I immediately broke open the container to take a look…

newfoodpics-009

Upon the look, I knew I had to have some, plus I was hungry for a snack anyway so this worked out well! I portioned out a 1/4 cup (or 1 oz) serving, which from my label, I knew was 134 calories 🙂

newfoodpics-010

Yes folks, it is as good as it looks. Sometimes plain granola bases can be bland, but since I chose the french vanilla as my starter, right away it was bursting with that vanilla flavor. The fruit, nuts and chocolate pieces melted in my mouth; none of the flavors overpowered each other and it was perfectly sweet and salty without either one dominating. There was also a nice blend of ingredients and not too much of any one thing. The oat bran flakes gave it a nice crunch and made it seem more like cereal, which I loved.

I can’t wait to use this as a topping for yogurt, oatmeal or ice cream but also just to have a nice little serving as a snack was a special treat. I think now that I have made my own granola, I don’t know if I can go back! Once this container runs out, I will be anxious to get back on the site and develop a new creation.

I love this concept of this company and their commitment to healthy granola and the environment. I hope you will too. Check them out and make something just for you. I also think this would be a great gift idea, especially if you have a picky person in your life; having their own granola could make their day!

Enjoy.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 19, 2009, in products, reviews, Snacks and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I love that website!! Making your own granola is the best 🙂

  2. Your mix looks really good! I should have added chocolate to mine 🙂

  1. Pingback: Busy Wednesday « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Backtracking « See Sarah Eat

  3. Pingback: Humidity is killer « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

