Nothing like good crusty bread

Sorry if that title made you drool…you’re going to have to wait until almost the end to see what I mean 🙂

Yesterday for breakfast, I had some more awesome pumpkin oats with raisins, PB, flax and walnuts. Seriously good.

newfoodpics-006

Now here is what would’ve been the lunch preview…

newfoodpics-007

Veggie burger with cheese, spinach and dijon mustard on whole wheat bread; brussels sprouts; apple. Yogurt + strawberries as snack.

The veggie burger, cheese, spinach combo is always a good idea. I totally savored it!

a5d036d9f3c7

I think I already mentioned that a took a half hour walk at lunch time yesterday…the weather was just lovely and I can tell today that my face got a little sun 🙂 I always look better with some color.

Yogurt time!

Let me just say, all previous “runny” Stonyfield comments aside, this fat free French vanilla was the best of theirs I have EVER had. It was so creamy and tasted great. I’m declaring it best French vanilla! Topped with strawberries made it even better and more fun too 😉

de1664c339f6

324c127fb735

After work, I went to the gym and ended up running 3 miles on the treadmill! It’s funny how working out always gives me more energy, even when I think I don’t have the energy to go work out at all. Funny how that happens…I think I got a total of 5 miles in yesterday, 2 of walking. I’m definitely mentally ready for the race on Saturday, let’s hope the body keeps up.

When I got home, I had a special package waiting for me, but you’ll have to wait until another post to hear about that one. But I had a sample of it after I walked the dog to hold me over until dinner and it was goooood.

The main course for dinner was my friend Beth’s famous Greek soup. I think this potluck thing has really helped us all reveal hidden cooking talents. Beth‘s Greek soup and ham & cheese sandwiches are to die for (how could I not mention Reindeer Chow?!); Margie makes the best corn fritters, bean loaf and falafel; Courtney‘s taco soup is just plain awesome, we need to have her banana pudding again soon, and the girl knows how to pick a good bread 🙂 There are many more, those are just the highlights.

Greek soup with feta in a convenient portion-sized container

Greek soup with feta in a convenient portion-sized container

I’m not sure of the recipe for this soup, but I know it contains tomatoes, zucchini, onion, potatoes and lots of spices. Best topped with some feta cheese!

I made a salad with stuff I had around the house: romaine, spinach, chopped dates, sliced almonds and one hard boiled egg. Here’s how pretty it looked right after I made it:

newfoodpics-011

Here’s my portion with two slices of Court’s bread topped with the spinach dip she provided too:

newfoodpics-014

Oh my, that bread. It was crusty on the outside, chewy on the inside, hearty, grainy, everything I love about bread. I ate another piece dry later on that is not pictured.

For dessert, I had some chamomile tea and 2 dark chocolate candies.

c4789da2840e

Court gave me the bread leftovers (she must love me!), but so far I have been able to resist. Tonight at dinner though, it’s on! Haha…

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 19, 2009, in Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, exercise, Lunch, products, Snacks and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Ooooh special package?! How fun!! Love the strawberries! I think your friend should post her falafel recipe!

Leave a comment