There’s tofu in my pudding!

When I first heard of this recipe, I was rather skeptical, as I’m sure you are. But if you are anything like me, you are going to love this. It’s not exactly low calorie, but the ingredients are simple and have nothing artificial added to it, so to me it is worth it.

Here’s what you need to make Tofu Chocolate Pudding:

NewFoodpics 003

1 cup semisweet chocolate chips melted with 2 tbsp water (either on stove or in microwave, stirring occasionally)

NewFoodpics 004

1/2 cup soy milk

NewFoodpics 005

12 oz package of firm silken lite tofu (the original recipe calls for 16 oz tofu + 1/4 cup of soy milk, so I just balance it out using less tofu and more soymilk, it makes for a better texture)

NewFoodpics 006

1 tablespoon vanilla extract…I think this was a little much, so maybe next time I’ll do 1/2 a tablespoon and see how that goes

NewFoodpics 007

Throw all ingredients into a blender and blend on low until all contents are well mixed. The consistency of mine this time around came out a little less thick than I am used to, so I think I may have run the blender too long.

Isn’t it funny how something can be different each time you do the same recipe? I also think I might’ve just needed to melt the chocolate in 1 tbsp water…hmm.

It comes out looking beautiful, just like this:

NewFoodpics 008

I haven’t measured exactly but I believe this makes 4, 1/2 cup servings and each serving is around 200 calories (most comes from the chocolate).

Hopefully now that it has some time to thicken up in the fridge it will be better tomorrow or whenever I decide to eat it again 🙂

Good night!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 19, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

