Not my best but still a great race!

It was freaking cold today, that is the best way to describe it. I think at the start time the temperature was 35 degrees, what the heck?! It was like 60 two weeks ago at the last race.

Anyway, today made me realize that it doesn’t really matter how fast you go, finishing the race and then watching your family cross that finish line after you is the best feeling in the world. Even when its cold, you’ve watched three people barf (yeah), and you are 31 seconds slower than last year.

But hey, I’m proud of my 1:03:00 people! WOOOO HOOOO! Leave it to me to get an even number πŸ˜‰

I kicked some pretty good butt for not training nearly as much this year as last year. I hadn’t even run 6 miles yet, the most I’d done is 4. I took 30 second walk breaks at each water stop which I know slowed me down a bit but if I hadn’t done that I honestly think finishing out the race might’ve been harder.

I’m definitely a 5K girl. The first 3.5 miles went by smoothly, it was the second half that was hard to get through. But I did it!

Here are some photos I took today, I’ll update more later when I’ve eaten and rested a bit…

The start line

The start line

Running past the church where I got married! :)

Running past the church where I got married! πŸ™‚

The finish line, yay!

The finish line, yay!

Taking a breather after the race, I don't look happy but I am

Taking a breather after the race, I don't look happy but I am

Family portrait, I'm so proud of them!

Family portrait, I'm so proud of them!

My Larabar stash, I was so thrilled to see these!

My Larabar stash, I was so thrilled to see these!

I had a cinnamon roll LB, best recovery snack yet!

I had a cinnamon roll LB, best recovery snack yet!

Β 

I’m off to eat some Indian food with my best friend and then do some perusing at the library. Couldn’t really ask for a better Saturday. Hope you all enjoy yours too πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading and being there for me.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 21, 2009, in accomplishments and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. VERY PROUD OF YOU, SARAH!!! You are amazing! And yeah, what’s up with the weather?? I much prefer the warmer-first-of-the-week weather to the cloudy, chilly weather. Have a great lunch and relax in your accomplishment! AWESOME!!!

  2. HOLY LARA!! That’s an AMAZING stash – I’m a wee bit jealous πŸ˜‰

    CONGRATS!! You did a fabulous job! Be proud!!

  3. CONGRATS SARAH!!!!!!!!!!!! I AM REALLY PROUD OF YOU =)

    KUDOS GIRLY ….

    you did an amazing job

Leave a Reply

