Don’t Eat Like Me

…at least not like I did on Saturday, haha.

Lots of lessons to be learned here. For one, don’t let yourself get to the point of real painful hunger before you eat. I know this and yet I’ve been guilty of doing it lately. Also, be very careful when you are sleep deprived! Sleep helps to regulate those hormones that make you feel full or hungry and when they get thrown off, so does your appetite and thinking you need to eat more.

But I have to say, I had fun. πŸ™‚

As my pre-race breakfast, I had two slices of whole wheat toast with PB and a banana:

ca5a5d2a49cf

I had a mini Larabar after the race (cinnamon roll) and ended up having another mini Larabar (pecan pie) before I met my friend for the awesome Indian food from Shalimar, which was a lunch buffet!

picture-001

On my first trip I tried the tandoori chicken (toward the front with onion on top), some chicken tikka on top of rice, mixed veggies cooked in Indian spices (the best!), and definitely some Naan was had. Underneath the Naan is some lentil dal. I’ve been craving Indian food forever and this totally hit the spot.

On my second trip, I got another piece of tandoori chicken (so juicy, tender and generally healthy because of how it is cooked), basmati rice, paneer of some sort (sorry, next time I will write it down!), and more of those mixed veggies! Oh and two more pieces of naan, haha.

I also tried this dish with chick peas in it but didn’t like it too much, probably because it was cold. I ate about two bites of this.

picture-002

We were pretty full but not uncomfortably stuffed when we left. We skipped the buffet dessert and hit up Starbucks. It ended up being so warm on Saturday (even though it was 35 at race time) so we opted for the cold drinks:

picture-003

Tall mocha lite frappuccino…I was thinking of you Erica πŸ™‚

After a trip to the library and Target, Courtney and I parted ways and I got ready for a social function with our Sunday School group from church. That’s pretty much where the crap hit the fan, haha.

I was sooo tired by the time we got there and my muscles and bones were aching from the 10k that morning. I should never plan social events for nights after a race, note to self!

Luckily we didn’t eat right away andΒ I was able to work up a decent appetite.

My husband made his awesome chicken tortilla soup and everyone raved about it! He was hoping for some leftovers but they cleaned it out. I think that’s a good sign myself πŸ˜‰

9174ebdcd56e

I also had a sloppy joe sandwich, pasta salad, green beans, baked beans, and some seven layer dip, which I only took one bite of because I did not like it at all.

a8ff9c926da8

I was full after eating all of this but I absolutely COULD NOT resist dessert. I had a lack of willpower, 4.5 hours of sleep, a 10K ran, all things going against me. I also couldn’t choose, so I had a little of all three (banana pudding, some chocolate pie thing and chocolate chip cookie cake). After I finished these and half a cup of coffee, I felt like I was going to explode. I was in PHYSICAL PAIN in my stomach. I had to lean back on the couch because it hurt so bad. That’s just not good.

ce64f18da983

I felt so awful after that I can pretty much guarantee you I won’t eat to that point again. At least not for a very, very long time after I have forgotten all about this experience, haha. Everything tasted very good though.

Honestly, I could’ve done worse, I just shouldn’t have caused myself pain over it, haha.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 23, 2009, in Breakfast, coffee, Dessert, Dinner, exercise, Lunch, products, restaurants, Snacks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Even though you had a stomach ache – the food sounds worth it!! That Indian buffet sounds good, I’ve never had Indian!

  2. Ha! I was totally drooling when I saw your mocha lite and had to let out a chuckle when I saw my name! πŸ˜€ I guess one bright spot of my nine billion trips to STL in the next 6 weeks is the ample number of Starbucks that I can go to! Yay! Daily mocha lites…uh, maybe not so much, I don’t want to get burnt out! teehee

  1. Pingback: Kashmir Indian Restaurant « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

