Earth Hour

Whew, it’s raining cats & dogs here this morning!

On Saturday, March 28th, people all across the globe will be participating in Earth Hour 2009; they will voluntarily turn off all their lights, appliances, etc. for one hour starting at 8:30 p.m. their local time. This is in hopes of sending a powerful message about Climate Change. Check out the website, it’s really neat.

Even though I will probably still be in the car on my way to New York City, I plan on doing my part for Earth Hour by turning off and unplugging everything in our home before we leave (except the DVR, sorry, I know that’s lame). Our dog is staying with her grandparents while we’re gone so there will be no one or nothing there to need anything turned on or plugged in. And that will be for 5 whole days!

Call me a nerd, but is anyone else excited that Lance Armstrong is still going to race in the Tour de France this year?! He broke his collarbone this week, but apparently that is not going to derail him. He is such an inspiration to many, especially cancer survivors like himself. 🙂

Anyway, what did I come here for? Oh yeah…

Mid-afternoon, I tried the Brown Cow maple flavored lowfat yogurt and it was just meh. I think with my non-Greek style yogurts, I need to have them as a part of a bigger thing like a parfait or with cereal because just by themselves they are runny and not very filling.

66754dc04322__1237908153000

b007c67cb458__1237908039000

I also took a nice 15-minute walk on my break at work today, it was nice to get some sunshine 🙂

I was hungry when I got home before going out for the concert, so I had a small bowl of BN Cheerios with 1% milk (all outta soy):

 0013

For dinner, we went to Jimmy John’s and I got an “unwich” (no bread, wrapped in lettuce) because I felt like I’d already met the carb requirement for the day, haha. I got the beach club (turkey, provolone cheese, lettuce, tomato, cucumber, sprouts & avocado spread). It was pretty awesome!

0022

Since Starbucks is right next door, I decided to have a nice summery beverage in the orange-mango-banana Vivanno, almost like a taste of summer (it was 75 degrees today)!

Unfortunately the Vivanno was sucked down before a picture could be taken 😉

The concert was AMAZING! There’s a lot to be said for small, intimate shows. Especially in this economy, you gotta love a $13 concert ticket! We were a little afraid at first that no one was going to show up but once Rocco DeLuca & the Burden came on stage, the crowd had finally filled out.

Here’s one of the good pictures I was able to get!

007

When I got home, I felt hungry again, so I had a small cup of cereal (I can’t buy this again when its gone, haha) and drank some water before going to bed 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 25, 2009, in Dinner, exercise, products, Snacks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. 75 degrees?! It was 45 here!! I’m jealous!

Leave a Reply

