The long trip home

Yesterday was a loooong day in the car. I can honestly say, I hope to never be in a car for that long again, haha. But it was worth it because we didn’t have to pay for our travel expenses and we got a nice introduction to New York City courtesy of a former resident. So all in all, it was a good trip. But we are exhausted!

We got up at 4 a.m. on Wednesday, got dressed and ready to hit the road. I woke up starving, so I had an Odwalla bar to hold me over until breakfast. This one was my favorite by far, I definitely plan to get more of these!

wedprebreakfast

We drove for a few hours and stopped at a place called Esther’s Restaurant located in Fredericksburg, Pennsylvania. It was a diner-style place and it had lots of great options, including OATMEAL! Boy I have missed it, not to mention peanut butter, which I did not have for an entire 5 days, that’s gotta be a record. Our waitress was so lovely, I asked her what baked oatmeal was and I didn’t order it but she gave me a small sample (not pictured). It was yummy! If for some reason I ever end up here again, I’m getting that.

I just got the plain oatmeal with raisins and I sprinkled a little brown sugar for some sweetness. I was given whole milk on the side and I did use a tiny pour just to rehydrate the oats a bit and in my coffee, which was excellent. This was a great meal, definitely beats McDonald’s (blech).

wedbreak1

A few hours later, I got hungry again so I snacked on a mini Larabar and a dark chocolate piece before lunch (its that time of the month now which is why the chocolate made an appearance, haha). It’s so good to be prepared!

wedmidamsnack

wedamsnack2

Much to my sadness, we stopped at McDonald’s for dinner lunch (it was late so it felt like early dinner) but at that point, I was just ready to eat and we were just three hours shy of getting home, so I didn’t complain…much. I got a barbecue grilled chicken snack wrap and a parfait.

wedlunch

It was just okay but I patted myself on the back for not getting a burger and fries. It would’ve made me sick anyhow. But I really am proud of myself for how I handled eating on this trip. I didn’t gain any weight, I worked out and I ate fairly balanced, although I was a little carb heavy. I also worked out at the gym (not to mention all the walking!) every day except Saturday and Wednesday which were spent in the car. Attitude is everything!

I remembered that McDonald’s does have good (and lowfat/low cal) soft serve ice cream for $1, so I treated myself to one.

wedicecream

It was sooo good and almost made up for my Tasti-d-lite (fake one anyway) disappointment. 🙂

This meal did almost nothing to hold me over though, so about an hour before we got home, I had another mini Larabar. Thank God I packed these!

wedpmsnack

When we got home, we went straight to my parent’s house to get our doggie, who remembered us thankfully 😉 Then we headed home to unpack and start laundry (yay). I went to the store for a few things we’d need for the rest of this week since we ate everything up before we left. Then I stopped and got dinner at Arby’s for us.

When I walked in the door, I immediately wanted curly fries and a roast beef sandwich. But I knew that was because I was tired and a little stressed, not to mention hormonal. So I took a step back and told myself I would feel so much better if I ate healthfully. So I ordered what my husband wanted and then got myself a Turkey Club salad with light ranch dressing (I only used half the packet).

wedarbysdinner

This salad was pretty good and low calorie too, I think I read 230-something without the dressing. But I can honestly say now I am completely burned out on deli meats; anything to do with turkey, ham or roast beef is going to get the stink eye from me for a while, haha. Everything I had was good, I just need some variety now!

For “dessert” or because I didn’t have a bread with my dinner, I broke into my newly purchased box of Oatmeal Squares (uh oh)…

weddessertx2

I had two of these which were used as paper-writing fuel, while I finished a paper that was due the next day. I also went to bed early and got 7 1/4 hours of sleep. I’m still pretty worn out but I feel a lot better than I would have if I’d stayed up all night.

I’m glad to be home now but I do miss NY. It was a fun trip and I can’t wait to go back and try other places and see other things. I am very jealous of those of you who live there!

Happy Thursday 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 2, 2009, in Breakfast, coffee, Dinner, Lunch, products, restaurants, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Love your eats, and I totally agree with the McDonalds soft served. My favorite!

    I totally want to find those mini larabars! So cute!

  2. it is soooooooooooo nice to have you back! I was going through Sarah withdrawels =)

    Now I am craving Mcdonalds! No matter how bad I know it is for me or how healthy I usually eat , I would never EVER not like it lol AND the same goes for all the other fast food places…Sometimes I just crave a bigmac or a whopper =)

  3. Glad the car ride is over! I love all the bars you ate (and the ice cream!)!

Leave a Reply

