Splitting breakfast

First things first…Kelly @ Every Gym’s Nightmare is having an Oikos giveaway! Make sure you get over to her site and get yourself entered. Greek yogurt is the best 🙂

I’ve seen it on the blogosphere that a lot of you who workout in the morning sort of “split” breakfast into two parts, adequately fueling your workout and then refueling after. I decided to try a similar plan today and so far, it has worked out great.

This morning, I had two mini bagels (220 calories, less than 1 big one!) with fat free strawberry cream cheese (which I fell in love with in New York) and an orange = 320 calories.

picture-0061

This is a smaller breakfast than I am used to eating and as you can see, not a lot of protein. I saved that for after!

My workout was simple and short. I started off with strength training first because I did not want to neglect it any farther. I did each exercise below for 1 minute on my abs:

  • Crunches
  • Side crunches (1 min on each side)
  • Straight leg toe reach crunches
  • Bicycle crunches

Then I did a round of upper body weight machines: lateral pulldown, chest press, chest flye, bicep curl, tricep extension, and sitting row. My arms were jello by the end. I did 15 reps of each exercise.

Then I hopped on the treadmill for 18 minutes (all the time I had left) and warmed up for 1.5, ran for 15 (at 5.1-6.0 mph) and then cooled down for 1.5.

Time: 18:10

Distance: 1.54 miles

Calories: 154

It was a good workout and I’m definitely feeling refreshed and more focused this morning because of it…and my awesome 2nd breakfast / morning snack.

8490bd102d64__1239082969000 0951490e25d4__12390830340001

Oikos vanilla yogurt + Kashi Cocoa Beach granola = awesome workout recovery snack!

I’m really enjoying my “tour” of Oikos, thanks again to the company for the awesome coupons! I know its expensive, but when you prefer the texture, consistency and taste of Greek yogurt, its hard to go back to anything else. I plan on purchasing more Oikos after my little stash runs out.

I still have blueberry and honey left, so stay tuned! Though, I’ve already declared my undying love for blueberry…

Lunch Preview

For lunch today, I brought a Kashi meal that I purchased over the weekend with a coupon I got from the company (it was free)! I’m excited to try it as Sweet & Sour Chicken used to be one of my favorite chinese food meals, but I’ve abstained since its one of the least healthy for you thanks to loads of sodium and sugar. This entire meal has 320 calories, so I’ve also brought a banana and a whole wheat pita pocket (not pictured) to round out my meal and give it some more staying power.

picture-0071

Included in the picture are my morning snack and afternoon (cheese stick) snack. The banana and pita may move around depending on my fullness from the Kashi meal.

Have a great Tuesday! Thanks for stopping by… 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 7, 2009, in Breakfast, exercise, Lunch, products, Snacks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Oh, which delicious brand of bagels do those happen to be? Mini bagels are too cute!

  2. Strawberry cream cheese on honey wheat bagels used to be one of my FAV combos! Love all the Kashi and Greek yogurt!

  3. I miss my Oikos- I ate all of mine in about 3 days!

    How is the Kashi granola? I don’t think I have ever tried that flavor before. It looks perfectly decadent!

    • The Kashi granola is GREAT. Its crunchy, chocolately and really good in yogurt or on top of ice cream, etc. I highly recommend it. This is the first Kashi granola flavor that actually blew me away.

  4. The bagels and strawberry cream cheese look so good! Great idea splitting breakfast into two! I am still in search of Oikos! They don’t sell it anywhere near me!

    • That stinks! I have had the same problem with a lot of products. Perhaps you could email the company and ask them to send you some or at least get it in your area 😉

  5. Great workout, Sarah how did feel when you finish your ten mile marathon, because I am training for the Los Angeles marathon?

  6. Hi Alex! Well, I have a 10 mile race this weekend, so I’ll let you know (haha). But last year when I did the 10-miler and half-marathon, I felt pretty good but my legs were pretty achy the days following. I think I took two weeks off (from exercise) after the half-marathon just to recover. But the thrill and accomplishment of it all was totally worth it. Good luck to you!

  7. Kashi cinnamon harvest is a good one too! Wow what a great blog! If anyone is looking for healthy meal plans This is one of my favorite health & fitness sites. It lets you track food, workouts, and calories!

  1. Pingback: Rest is essential « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

