Rest is essential

I’ve learned today just how beneficial rest and relaxation can be. I’d pretty much be going non-stop since we left and came back from New York. Jumping right back into work and various other activities that filled most of the hours of the day. Saturday, I was able to have a lazy morning but the rest of the day was anything but. I started to notice I didn’t feel my best and the scale had gone up slightly.

But then Monday, I was able to come home and relax a bit before going to bed at a decent hour and getting 7 hours of sleep. Yesterday, I was able to come home a little earlier from work and get some stuff done; then I went to play volleyball for an hour and a half and then spent the rest of the night in bed watching the women’s NCAA national championship before rolling over at 10:15 and getting 8 hours of sleep! Eight is pretty rare for me.

I woke up this morning, feeling so refreshed and renewed. I hopped on the scale just to see because I’ve been having some late night snacking issues again and what do you know, what had creeped up has now creeped back down. Hmm…I think there is something to this sleep and rest thing, haha. In honor of that, and my sore muscles, I’m taking it easy today. I’m wearing tennis shoes so I plan to take a few short walks during the day and then at lunchtime I’m attending a stress management class here at work, so that should be very insightful. I’m not really a stressed person, but it would be good to know how to handle it when it does happen.

Now onto the Eats

That Kashi meal was pretty good yesterday, much more flavorful than I expected and the pilaf was so much better with it than any other rice I’ve had. With the meal and the pita, I was pretty full, so I was able to save the banana for later with my cheese stick.

kashi-meal

I think I needed a more substantial snack though because when I got home early before I started making dinner, I was pretty hungry.

Half-serving of honey roasted peanuts (all gone)

Half-serving of honey roasted peanuts (all gone)

 

And a few nibbles of See Sarah Eat granola -- so good!

And a few nibbles of See Sarah Eat granola -- so good!

For dinner, I made pork chops and I seasoned mine with Mrs. Dash lemon pepper seasoning. The flavor really didn’t come through as much as it does with fish and chicken though. I don’t know why that is. I guess the pork flavor just overwhelms it. On the side, I had some brown rice (with that hot chinese garlic sauce I can’t spell) and brussel sprouts (with S+P). And the last of the habanero ketchup for dipping the pork chop (tear).

picture-011

This dinner was yummy but for some reason, I had some stomach pains for about 30 minutes or so right after I ate this. I’m starting to think my tolerance for certain vegetables might not be as good as it once was. Does anyone else struggle with this? Luckily it went away pretty quickly and I went to go play volleyball for the first time in a few weeks.

We had a lot of people on the court, so I didn’t really break a sweat or anything but it was still a fun workout and I definitely feel it this morning 🙂 Unfortunately, our girls lost their championship basketball game last night but its hard to beat UCONN. They still went farther than they ever have in school history! Pretty cool.

For “dessert”, I had a slice of whole wheat toast with regular PB and chocolate chips. I have to say, this is way better with the White Chocolate PB, I think its because it makes it chocolatier (sp?). Tina, see what you’ve done? Haha. I think this makes a really good snack though because after I ate this, I didn’t even think about anything else other than drinking water and brushing my teeth. No need to go back for seconds!

picture-013

I’ve seen the first 10 minutes or so of The Biggest Loser from last night (I recorded it while I was watching the game) and that temptation made me want to hurl! I honestly think I’d rather take the chance of not having power than eating all those calories. I haven’t seen the rest of the episode yet (so don’t tell me what happens!), but I can only assume its going to catch up with them eventually. Ugh 😉

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 8, 2009, in Dessert, Dinner, exercise, Lunch, products, Snacks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great dessert! That brown rice sounds so good!!

Leave a Reply

