Hip paranoia

Happy Wednesday! Yay, it’s potluck day ๐Ÿ™‚

Last night on The Biggest Loser, Laura was diagnosed with a stress fracture in her hip. SPOILER ALERT! I’m glad the team did the “right thing” and sent her home so she could get proper medical treatment and I’m proud of her for being able to maintain her substantial weight loss while having limited exercise capabilities. How inspiring!

It seems like everytime I have some pain in a certain area of my body (usually the legs) I start to assume I have a stress fracture or other overuse injury. I have been running a lot more lately and I think last Saturday, at the 10-miler, I may have pushed it too much. A person should not go from averaging 2-3 miles a day to 10 (even though I walked and ran). I have a half-marathon next Saturday, the 25th, so I’m hoping this doesn’t continue. I just haven’t trained my body for the longer distances like I have in the past.ย 

While I don’t believe I have a stress fracture, I do believe I have some true soreness which requires less strenuous workouts. All day yesterday I had a pain that seemed to originate in my leg, between my glutes and hamstrings and as the day went on it seemed to shoot down to my knee (left leg only). Then when I woke up this morning, my hips hurt, but the pain from yesterday seems to have gone. I’m not in pain just sitting, but walking is interesting to say the least.

Question: When you have some soreness or a possible injury, can you “tell” whether its muscle or bone? I can feel a definite difference when I have a tight or pulled muscle compared to what I’ve had the past two days. This definitely feels like a sore bone if that’s possible. Maybe I’m just paranoid?

Either way, we’ll monitor and see how it goes ๐Ÿ™‚

Breakfast this morning was a nice heaping bowl of Multigrain Cheerios with 1/2 cup strawberries and unsweetened coconut milk. I checked the nutritionals of the coconut milk last night and was glad to see it provides 30% Vitamin D, however, it only contains 10% of my daily calcium needs. Since I have bones on the brain, this is not the best, so I will probably switch to a better milk or milk alternative once this is done. I do take a supplement, but it doesn’t quite cover up for this.

picture-0101

Morning Workout

I took another “easy” day today and did 15 minutes on the Elliptical, which felt okay on my hips, once I lowered the ramp (from 10 down to 6) and kept the incline between 3-5. Then I did 15 minutes on theย bike while reading more of my new issue of “Shape” and then lots of stretching. I recalled my yoga practice, which has been lacking lately (coincidence?), and did some downward facing dogs and pigeon poses, which really stretched my hips for me. I also did some more “regular” stretching and everything is feeling pretty good right now.

Lunch and Snacks Preview

Mid-morning, post-workout, I plan to have ate this mini-Larabar ๐Ÿ™‚

picture-0082

For lunch today, I have a salmon burger with light mayo and a slice of whole wheat bread; some mixed veggies; and an orange.

picture-0072

I’m so glad grocery shopping day is coming up soon! I may have to make a yogurt run today though, I’m all out after this one:

picture-0062

I’m mixing the yogurt with 2 tbsp canned pumpkin, cinnamon and topping it with 1 tbsp sliced almonds. I came up with this snack the other night while I was “meal planning” something that benefits both the waistline and the grocery bill ๐Ÿ™‚

Speaking of yogurt…The Fitnessista is giving away some Stonyfield/Oikos goodies, so check out her blog and get yourself entered ASAP!

Have a great Wednesday!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 15, 2009, in Breakfast, exercise, Lunch, products, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I hope your hip feels better…I remember when my shins were injured and my niece hit them by mistake and I screamed so loud and started to cry from the pain, I KNEW it was the bone at that point (ouch)

  2. Pumpkin yogurt!! One of the best combos ever ๐Ÿ™‚

    I can’t help you too much because I’ve never had a stress fracture (only a real one) but definitely take it easy!

Leave a Reply

