Winding down

I can’t believe April is already halfway gone but I’m glad because it means my really busy past few months are finally winding down. I just finished my class Anatomy class and then Monday night is my last Epidemiology class before finals. Both should be challenging but I’m prepared and I have to write a paper but that’s not due until the 27th. I’m taking the summer off from classes, so I should have plenty of time to devote to my interests which makes me really excited!

Also exciting is my friend Erica‘s radition treatment is progressing along really well and she has signed up for the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure in St. Louis! This woman is amazing, such an inspiration as a wife & mother, Christian woman, dedicated runner, and all around cancer-butt-kicker. Please support her in this wonderful cause by donating to her webpage. Thanks!

~~~

Breakfast this morning was a smoothie. I’m really liking the smaller meals thing because I think it keeps me more stabilized and its nice not having to “worry” whether breakfast will hold me over until lunch because I already know I have a snack coming a couple hours later!

I used this protein powder:

picture-0201

Thrown in the blender with 1 cup coconut milk, 1 frozen banana and 1 tbsp ground flax, which produced this:

picture-022

I was worried about this flavor but no fear was warranted, this ROCKED. I think the coconut milk made it extra creamy too (as opposed to Skim). I’m really getting back into the smoothies and I can’t wait to try more protein powders (this one has lots of vitamins too, so many that I didn’t take my multi today!). So far I’ve had this flavor, the Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl and Cookies ‘n Cream. There are only a few more at Whole Foods, so I may have to utilize some web outlets to get others that I know exist πŸ™‚

Lunch & Snacks Preview

PB&J in a pita pocket, orange and brussels for lunch (its almost real grocery shopping time)

picture-0152

TGFF – Thank God for Fage! I think I have an official “favorite” brand of greek yogurt now. I like the others, even love some of them, but nothing can take Fage’s place in my heart, haha…

picture-0161

Ate the chocolate-fruit-nut mix mid-morning with 2 cups of coffee. I have noticed this week that I’ve been drinking 2 (normal size) cups of coffee instead of just one. I don’t know why, I think its because I just like to drink it, the taste, as opposed to needing more caffeine. I guess as long as its not Starbucks (its a store brand breakfast blend right now) then its not too bad, right?

I’m planning an after-work OUTDOOR workout today. We’re expecting 65 and sunny…70’s tomorrow! It won’t last but that’s ok πŸ™‚

Happy Thursday!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 16, 2009, in Breakfast, coffee, exercise, Lunch, Snacks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. That smoothie looks yummy =)

    I am hoping to go to the park today during lunch for a walk, I hope my allergies don’t kill me =(

  2. Glad the smoothie was a success! YAY for the nice weather πŸ™‚

  3. Oh yah to the smoothie!!!

  4. That smoothie looks so good! Makes me crave one!

Leave a Reply

