I need yoga

After my lunchtime workout, I was reminiscing on how much I miss yoga. I’ve used the Yoga downloads, videos and improvised on my own for a while now. But something about being in a class, away from everything (like distractions), with an instructor there to literally adjust you if you need help; there’s just nothing quite like it.

So, my goal for the next month or so is to do some research and find a yoga studio! I’ve taken classes here or there around the city but I would like to find a place that I could go to repeatedly. We have classes here at work, which I like, but I have to wait and see what their schedule is going to be for the summer.

I already know the gym is going to start opening later, so that is going to nix my early morning gym workouts. The cool thing is that its Spring and eventually Summer and I’m thinking about trying to work out some at home morning workouts, including outdoors! 🙂

Anyway, just got back from my lunchtime workout…I did 30 minutes walking on the treadmill, conquering 2 miles at various inclines along the way. I do very well at moderate inclines like 5.0-7.0% but when we start getting closer to the double digits, I have to use the handrails! Since I used the inclines, I think I probably burned close to 200 calories in this workout.

I was so excited to do planks today! That sounds crazy, especially coming from me because I used to hate them. I was breathing heavy and shaking the whole time, but I managed to get through 2 sets of 1-minute regular planks and 30 second side planks (on each side). My heart was thumping in my chest when I got done so I know that by itself is a good workout. I’m interested to see how sore my abs and arms are tomorrow, if its anything like the last time 😉

Nope, that’s not me, haha…but I did that!

Lunch was awesome! Now that I have tried a hummus wrap, I can see it becoming a regular part of my lunch rotation. I don’t know what I was so afraid of…I guess I thought it wouldn’t fill me up or hold me over very well, but I was way wrong, especially paired with the spinach. I think I would try it as a sandwich too sometime. There are just so many varieties and flavors of hummus that possibilities could be endless!

I have a refreshing Fage yogurt to look forward to this afternoon and then its off to class, the last one! Next semester it will be Tuesday nights, so I’m hoping that will be easier than Monday, right?!

Hope you are enjoying your day. It’s been raining here but the Sun managed to pop out for a few minutes 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 20, 2009, in exercise, Lunch, Walking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Great workout chickie! I think I might be stealing your hummus wrap idea lol…

  2. I always enjoyed going to yoga class because our instructor would give us mini massages at the end 🙂

    YAY hummus!!

  3. Great Workout! you could start to see some abs! 🙂 Here in CA it’s been pure sun and it burn, that is why I like winter because there is so sun.

    Take care

  4. looks like you got a good workout!

    Yeah I’ll need your email so I can send you your prize 🙂

  1. Pingback: Shaking things up « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

