Now I remember

I took a pic of this mini-Larabar because I threw it in my purse for a mid-morning snack at church but I ended up not needing it until lunchtime, when the sandwich I ordered did not fill me up too well:

picture-031

We had lunch with my parents at Schlotzsky’s Deli, which we hadn’t been to in years and now we remember why. I ordered the veggie sandwich which was described as “Cheddar cheese, cucumber slices, red onion, tomato and lettuce with fat-free spicy ranch dressing and black olives on toasted Wheat bread.” And it was, only it was puny and the lettuce was shredded iceberg. They offered chips as a side (no thanks), iceberg side salads (tasteless), and they have soup but Sunday’s selection was potato. Oy.

Here’s my little sandwich: 354 calories for something I could’ve made at home with better veggies and some protein!

 7748e28fe1c0__1240134613000

Has anyone else had a similar or perhaps better experience?

After lunch, I did lots of household stuff and had to break for a snack halfway through. I had a sliced banana with 1 tbsp of my new Naturally More PB! I was able to drizzle it on there because I had just opened the jar and stirred it up. Its now sitting comfortably in the fridge.

picture-032

Oh my gosh, this PB is so good. I really do prefer the “gritty” kinds like this one and Smucker’s natural, which I haven’t had in a while. I’m so glad I picked this up on a fluke this weekend. Can’t wait to try it in oats 🙂

When it came time for dinner, I really asked myself what I was in the mood for. Turns out, it was pasta?! I made 1 cup of Heartland rotini pasta with my usual combo of spaghetti sauce, spinach, and peppers (1/2 cup each), mixed with some minced garlic, 2 turkey sausage links and topped with 2 tsp parmesan cheese.

picture-033

I think it really pays to listen to yourself (most of the time) because this meal satisfied me for a looong time and I really enjoyed making it and eating it.

I did lots more cleaning, dishes, laundry, etc. until I was ready to drop. That’s my Sunday workout!

For dessert, I had one piece of dark chocolate and 1/2 cup of juicy grapes. Usually, I would need a more substantial snack, especially since I ate dinner at 5:30, but this was all I required.

picture-0351

Back to work, another week, but this is my last week of school so I’m very excited about that. I’m taking the summer off (from studying)! 🙂

Happy Monday.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 20, 2009, in Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, products, Snacks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Sorry about the disappointing lunch! I always get bummed out when meals don’t turn out the way I want them to!

Leave a Reply

