Return of oats

Feels like I hadn’t had oats in forever! Well, today I actually had oat bran, but still. It was 37 degrees (!) when I got up this morning so I knew a warm bowl of something great was in order!

picture-0023

This bowl contained…

  • 1/3 cup oat bran
  • 1/2 cup 1% milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup Libby’s canned pumpkin (because no other kind will do)
  • 2 tsp milled flax
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie seasoning
  • Topping: 1 tbsp pecans, 1 tbsp Naturally More peanut butter

picture-0034

The Naturally More is so good! I think its quickly becoming a favorite. What I like about it, besides the taste and texture, is that its lower in calories/sugar than regular peanut butter and it contains  more protein and Omega-3’s which are good for me trying to raise my HDL. I can’t wait to go back to the doctor later this year to see if my efforts have paid off 🙂

Its also satisfying enough to have 1 tbsp, whereas sweet ones like Peanut Butter & Co have me running toward the jar with a spoon! Boy, I sure do miss that White Chocolate Wonderful though. I still can’t believe I have a jar of Nutella in my house and no desire to eat it in mass quantities like before. I’ve changed?!

Lunch and Snacks

Lunch today is some leftovers: chickpeas (aka garbanzo beans), the other 1/2 of my sweet potato (with sour cream) and an orange. Oh and a pita pocket 😉

picture-0043

Snacks are an apple + cheese stick and a miracle Fage 2% with peachiness…

picture-0056

Tonight is girl’s night potluck and I’m excited because I will be making Black Bean Soup for the first time! I found a good recipe but I’m making my own modifications to put my own personal spin on it. I can’t wait to see how it turns out. I get pretty lucky with soup recipes most of the time so I’m confident it will be good. Courtney is making her famous banana pudding tonight, so I can’t wait for that as well!

Exercise

I don’t really have anything on the exercise agenda for today mostly due to lack of time. At lunch, I’m going to a stress management class, which has been really relaxing. It has taught me deep breathing, how to have a “vacation” in your mind, and just in general relaxation techniques.

The best part is the envisioning your ideal life. I’ve really been able to take hold of this and I’m starting to see what I want to do with my life, which has been really eye-opening. I love it so far and can’t wait to see what else we learn!

I wore tennis shoes to work today on purpose, so I’m thinking I’ll get in a few short walks over the course of the day to add up to 30 minutes or so hopefully. Then, I plan to do some planks or other strength moves while my soup is simmering later. You can fit it in guys, no excuses! 😉

Weight

I haven’t talked about weight on here in a while, mostly because I’m concentrating on maintaining and toning up my body, plus relaxing more and de-stressing my worn out body. I’m not running as hard as I was because it was really starting to take its toll and I’m making a good effort to go to bed earlier or set the alarm for later when I can.

I’ve also started planning my meals out in advance, to save time in the morning and to make sure I’m getting all the necessary food groups and nutrients each day as best I can.

Its paying off because today I weighed in at 147, which is the lowest its been in quite a while. It was cool to see but that number alone does not equal my happiness (nor should it yours),  it was just an added bonus of what I’ve already been feeling, which is rejuvenated, healthy and energetic!

Have a great Wednesday blog friends, thanks for the support.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 22, 2009, in Breakfast, exercise, Lunch, products, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Yums your oats look GOOD!

    Great job with you weight and maintaining it! I honestly think that maintaining your weight loss is one of the hardest things to do. Those numbers creep back so fast if you do not watch what you do. Kudos to you chickie!

  2. Way to go with the weigh in!! Living a healthy life can take some effort and planning but it’s so worth it in the end 🙂

  3. Glad to hear that things are going well with the weight! Look at you go!

Leave a Reply

