Ryan Reynolds!

Now that I have your attention…

I keep checking my blog stats and the biggest search that lands people here to See Sarah Eat is Ryan Reynolds! All from my post on my top five hotties. Who would know this is a food blog? šŸ˜‰

Food

Everything went pretty well yesterday eating wise, especially during the day. My oat bran held me over until after 11 a.m., when I decided to go ahead and eat my snack before stress management class. We are learning some really great relaxation techniques and I’m glad to report that my “mood dot” finally started turning colors! It got all the way green (which means relaxed but busy) before I headed back to work where it went completely black (stressed or hands are really cold). So I think that’s progress šŸ™‚

Lunch was later than usual, which is good for WednesdaysbecauseĀ I have dinner with the girls so late (when did 7:00 become late? how old am I?). I ate my Fage around 4:15 and that held me all the way until dinnertime. I love that stuff. I can’t wait to get more hopefully this weekend.

I made black bean soup for the first time ever yesterday, which I couldn’t believe I had never made it before. I used this recipefrom allrecipes.com as a base but I made several adjustments to fit my own style and what I had on hand at home.

I started off by sauteing some tri-pepper and onion mix, 1 large carrot (chopped), and 3 cloves (1.5 tsps) of mincedĀ garlicĀ in 1 tbsp olive oil in a large pan. Or is it a pot? I never did know the difference…

picture-0063

Then I added 1 can of organic black beans and 1 (14-15 oz) can of low sodium vegetable broth to the pan, while I pureed the other can of black beans in my blender…

picture-0073

Ew, I hate it when all the sodium rises to the top and “foams” like that. Ew, ew. Luckily it didn’t stay. I need to make this with dry beans next time!

I added 1/4 tsp ground cumin and a few shakes of black pepper and chili powder, stirred it up and simmered for 20 minutes (after first bringing it to a boil). After that it went into my mini-crockpot and off to Courtney’s šŸ™‚ This recipe made exactly four servings (one bowl each person). You will see from the recipe, I omitted several things so that is why the servings came out smaller.

I ended up walking the dog while the soup simmered, but I did get in two sets of planks and side planks, plus some bicep curls + shoulder presses and tricep extensions with the 5 lb weights I had at home. I also did squats for 1 minute, which came out to 30 but my knees were making weird noises so I decided to stop at one set. My thighs are feeling it today! My abs are sore but not like before so I think its time to step it up! I got a 15 minute walk in at work, plus a few shorter ones going back and forth to places on my break.

On to dinner…

MargieĀ  brought some veggies as a side, which is good because I lacked them somewhat yesterday, so I think I caught up after dinner!

picture-0083

2% cheddar cheese and fat free sour cream on the soup; 1/2 portabello mushroom, squash, asparagusĀ and onion on the side. I didn’t finish the mushroom or half the asparagus.

I also spoiled myself a little bit with these (like times ten probably):

picture-0102

And for dessert, we had Courtney’s banana pudding (girl, I think the skim milk made this taste even BETTER) and Aleta (a new member of the Wednesday night crew?) brought a really good cake, I’m not sure what kind but it was sort of like strawberry shortcake and the icing was whipped which was really tasty.

picture-0112

I ended up going back for seconds on both desserts! I knew I had overdone it but I wasn’t uncomfortably stuffed or anything and I drank lots of water with this. I think I was tired and somewhat stressed about the final I was working on all night while I was there (sorry girls). But I’m finished now, so life can start getting back to normal again šŸ™‚

Hope everyone had a good night!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on April 23, 2009, in Dessert, Dinner, exercise, products and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Both the dinner and dessert look fantastic!! Hah don’t you love some of the wacky searches!

Leave a Reply

