Shaking things up

I’m a firm believer in changing up your routine every so often, whether it be trying new foods or products, starting a new fitness regimen or just adding to your workouts, whatever. It’s important to keep your body (and your mind) guessing so everything stays fun and exciting and you don’t get bored and QUIT.

In honor of that, I took off work today (!) and I am going to see Wolverine (featuring RYAN REYNOLDS–that’ll get some hits on the blog, hehe) with my two best friends, Josh (the husband) and Courtney. And we’ll get something good to eat and later on head down to the Everclear / Gavin DeGraw concert tonight 🙂 Lots going on around here with the Derby and all.

Here’s the three of us at the Def Leppard/Styx/Foreigner concert in Summer 2007!

threeofus

Aren’t we cute? 😉

I’ve also decided it’s high time I get back into Yoga. You remember my post about how much I’ve missed it. Well, here at work they are starting up another series of classes that will meet on Monday, Wednesday and Friday, which works perfectly into my schedule. The Friday class is actually Pilates, so I will be getting a good variety in during the week I hope. Thank goodness I took the summer off from school, I need it!

I am also beginning a new training program for a 5K that I am running on May 23rd. It’s easy and not at all complicated and actually has me running short distances every other day which I think is just what my body was asking for.

I was really inspired by this post from Heather about how she decided to quit running after 7 years and focused on honoring her body through activities like yoga. I’m not giving up running entirely, I have just learned my limits and I’m going with what feels good for me and not pushing my body further than it wants to go right now.

I’ve also joined an official walking club put together by a hospital in our city. My family and I are going to hold each other accountable and meet regularly for walks because its not only good for our health, its good for our relationships 🙂

I’m so excited to turn over and start this new chapter of my life! Hope you all do the same for yourselves.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 1, 2009, in 5k, running, yoga. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Oh wow, so much fun!!!! and that sounds neat with the walking club!!!!

  2. I might have to copy your plan! I need something like that to hold me accountable!

  3. Way to shake it up! After all, it’s Friday right?! I’m intrigued by Heather’s post, I’m going to read it in just a few…
    Have a great time at the concert and a great weekend! Sounds like all kinds of fun with the Derby in town and all. I hope the weather is prettier for you than it is here…blah. 😀

  4. Sarah,
    I too am excited for this new chapter in your life, and I couldn’t agree more – so important to keep both your mind and body guessing. 🙂

    How cool that your job offers organized yoga classes, and adds a little Pilates to the mix. I think with that, your 5K training program, and the walking club, you’ll definitely never get bored. Sounds like the perfect mix.

    Hope you have a wonderful weekend and have fun at the concert!

    P.S. – Thanks for the shout-out. Oh, and yes, all three of you are cute. 🙂

  5. Yay for walking club!! That sounds like fun! Hope you enjoyed playing hookey today 😉

  6. courtneydarling

    Um, we always happen to be cute, lol. Especially me…I want to see Def Leppard again. Oh, and I think Hugh Jackman should be your healthy hottie this week…fine example of the male physique…*sighs* “I love this movie!”

  1. Pingback: 5K training halfway point « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

