Bluegrass Brewing Company

I had my first of three birthday meals this afternoon with my family at a local place here called the Bluegrass Brewing Company. They make their own beer and root beer, which is so cool. My husband, who doesn’t even like root beer, tried it because its that good. I passed this time as I had plenty of it as a kid to remember ๐Ÿ˜‰

For an appetizer, we ordered the beer battered mushroom skewers. I just had one dipped in a little horseradish sauce. The husband loved these! I have to admit, it was probably the best fried mushroom I’ve had.

bbcmushrooms

For my meal, I ordered the Portobello spinach wrap which also had roasted red peppers and basil aioli.

bbcspinachwrap

The wrap was great, very flavorful and veggie-ful. See, here we go with another meat-free day. Not planned, just what I like!

The cole slaw I had instead of fries or potato chips made me glad because it was lighter and I’ve eaten fries and chips too much lately. I didn’t love it though, the flavor was sort of lacking but it beat the alternative.

I hadn’t been to BBC since I was a kid so it was like going to a whole new place again. They have many other menu items that I must try so I will definitely be going back! If you are ever in Louisville, this is a must see ๐Ÿ™‚

After lunch, we went to see “The Ghosts of Girlfriends Past” which was pretty cute but hard to get into at first because Matthew McConaughey was such a jerk! Haha. But it was a fun time with the family and a successful first (of many) birthday celebrations. We’re off to a good start! ๐Ÿ˜‰

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 3, 2009, in Lunch, restaurants and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hahaha, glad you enjoyed the movie! =D =D
    And everything looks great! And mmm yummmy wrap!

Leave a Reply

