Brown monster?

By now you have seen and probably even tried the green monster featured on Angela’s blog and perhaps you have done like me and made your own substitutions (I’ve used soymilk, coconut milk and cow’s milk) or additions along the way.

Well, this is one I tried recently and I’m still not sure if I recommend it or not…

Behold the almighty BROWN MONSTER!

food-061

Is it chocolate? No, haha, I wish. Here is what this cup contains:

  • 1 cup 1% cow’s milk
  • 2 cups fresh spinach
  • 2 tsp ground flax
  • 1 cup frozen mixed berries

I have tried a similar combination such as this before, when I experimented with using fresh strawberries in my “green” monster. That one was okay, but didn’t have the same sweetness as the original which makes it sort of hard to mask the spinach taste. It’s not that I hate eating spinach, its just hard to drink sometimes.

I thought the frozen berries, being a mixture and frozen to preserve freshness, would’ve worked better, but not so much.

food-060

If someone gave this to me, I would drink it again but I don’t think it’s one that I will chose to make on purpose again. I’m going to stick with what I know is good, which is milk, spinach, flax and a very ripe banana (frozen or fresh w/ ice).

Has anyone tried it with citrus fruits? I have a ton of oranges at my house and thought I might give that a go. We’ll see!

Do you make green monsters? What’s your favorite combination of ingredients?

Hope you all are having a great weekend 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 3, 2009, in recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I actually havent had a green monster, I’m not big on smoothies. I like the chewing process of fruits LOL

  2. I love green monsters! I like to add frozen mixed berries, a banana, and some ground up oatmeal to keep me full longer.

  3. Aw sorry it wasn’t that great! I’m like Sharon, I like chewing instead of drinking but I love the idea of the green monster!

Leave a Reply

