Vegetarian or just don’t like meat?

I have started to notice just over this past weekend that at least 50% of my eating is vegetarian?! Probably more. I was just sitting there on Friday and Saturday both thinking to myself “did I eat any meat today?”

I’m not freaked out by that at all, in fact I find it rather cool. I was at the grocery store with my husband this weekend and I just hated the meat section as usual. I like chicken (which we usually buy frozen), seafood (mostly salmon and tuna), and the occasional turkey, but other meat (pork, beef, etc.) really, honestly just freaks me out.

The last few times I’ve eaten pork chops at home they just didn’t “do it for me.” Then Saturday for lunch I made a really nice veggie burger wtih tomato and hummus on an English muffin and it was the best thing ever! So I’m going to stick with what I like from now on.

I don’t know for sure if I could ever go 100% vegetarian because its just my personal belief that excluding anything or eating too much of one thing just doesn’t work for me in the long run and that goes for all foods, not just meat. I find for me, its good to be balanced, which includes some meat every now and then. I do eat the occasional hamburger at a restaurant or cookout, I just don’t really like to buy and cook red meat at home.

I also like to alternate cow’s milk and dairy alternatives beause I get bored easily and like to get the health benefits from both. There are just so many alternatives out there, not just soy milk. So far I’ve tried coconut milk and have recently purchased almond milk (on sale at Whole Foods!) so I can’t wait to give that one a whirl when I finish off the 1%.

I know there are a lot of vegetarian and vegan bloggers/foodies out there so I’m just curious? Why are you a vegetarian? Is it environmental, ethical, do you just not like meat, etc?

I think for me too, not eating meat is also economical. When I was in a nutrition class a year ago, I did a 3-day food project including a cost analysis, where I determined that per serving (and meal) meat was the most expensive thing we buy every week. Hmm. I actually save money buy buying fresh produce that is in season because its cheaper then too.

I also love a lot of meat alternatives like veggie burgers, tofu, tofu or soy hot dogs, veggie sausage, etc. And not because I’m avoiding meat but because I think they taste good and I love that (most of them) aren’t full of the fat and other nasty stuff that comes in not-so-lean meats. And yet they still have the protein! 🙂

This blog post is more or less for me just a way to note to myself that this is what is happening in my diet and I kind of want to run with it. I’m not giving anything up, I’m just being more observant and open to new possibilities and alternatives that I hadn’t thought of before.

On that note, I’m hungry, so see you guys later!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 4, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I’m a vegetarian for two reasons:
    1. As a kid, I hated meat. Most parents have to get the kids to eat their veggies, for me it was any meat. I didn’t like the texture of it (too chewy) and I didn’t like how it would get my plates all, bloody for lack of better term.
    2. Ethically, I just can’t bear to imagine what I was eating – a cow, a pig. That just didn’t sit right with me.
    With that said, I’m not a veggie pusher. I think people should do what they want to do 🙂

  2. I am so in your boat!! I was a vegetarian though in my teens just because I didn’t like meats. In college, I started craving things like burger and finally gave in. It has been a process of learning what I like and what I don’t- ie- love steak (not cooked by me)~ hate most chicken sandwiches and turkey lunch meat. I recently discovered tofu and LOVE it. Because of this discovery and because of my new dedication to eating whole foods(and hating chicken… kinda) I basically eat pescitarian (eats fish, eggs, dairy). I use 8th Continent Milk in my oatmeal because it tastes so good, veganaise in my salads because that is the way it comes at my local PCC, and tempeh/tofu/beans as a protien source.

    I think this is normal?- especially for people who are adventurous with food and work on their health? I know I am totally ok with it, and if I am at a restaurant and want a duck dish or whatnot I am going to order it and not feel bad.

    Thanks for the post!!

    • Thanks you guys for your comments! I used to hate the steak my parents made at home and for that reason I cannot eat it very often, I really still don’t like it, but my husband does. I definitely choose all the non-meat things I eat because they taste the best to me 🙂

      I also hate all the artificial things that get “done” to meat through processing. We got a Jennie-O turkey breast one time and it was so salty I thought I would be sick 😦 And don’t even get me started on fast food “meat” haha.

      Yay, for veggies. The food and the people 🙂

  1. Pingback: Challenge day 1 « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Update on vegetarian eating « See Sarah Eat

  3. Pingback: Challenges, changes, etc. « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

