New recipes night

My husband is away at a concert tonight, so it was the perfect opportunity for me to try out some new recipes!

I love tofu but I have never been very successful at baking it, so I mostly stir fry it and grill it on the Foreman. But tonight, I decided to try Caitlin’s recipe, hoping it would turn out better than my previous attempts.

I printed out her instructions and ingredients list. I loved how the only think I was missing were sesame seeds, which I promptly went out and bought 🙂

038

I made the marinade with the same ingredients, only I used a tsp of each spice instead of 1/2 tbsp of two of them. I was disappointed in my honey, which had partially solidified in the container — I had to scrape it out with a knife! I plan to get a new container of raw honey soon, since there wasn’t much left anyway.

039

My tofu was rather flimsy, so I wasn’t able to “dip” it in the marinade like I was supposed to, so instead I poured it over the pieces.

040

I also decided to make some asparagus because I purchased a bunch at the store this past weekend. I sort of went on my own for this one, mixing  2 tbsp of EVOO with 1/2 tsp minced garlic (aka one clove) and drizzling it on the asparagus.

042

I put it in the oven with the tofu but let it cook a little longer (about 5-7 min) since asparagus is usually baked at a higher temperature.

All together now!

044

The texture of the tofu still wasn’t what I’m looking for, but I think I just need to find the right kind/brand. However, the marinade was fabulous! Both sweet and spicy, perfect. The asparagus was great, it only needed a tiny sprinkle of salt. Some of the pieces got cooked a bit too much and ended up crunchy, but that was great! I loved the oil + garlic, hello flavor.

I also had a pita pocket with 2 tsp whipped butter.

I was very pleased with this meal and all the amazing health benefits that go along with the ingredients. I’m also happy to report this meal serves two, so I have leftovers for lunch one day this week!

Now I’m settled in on the couch with the dog, ready to watch The Biggest Loser. Wonder who’s going to win? I’m rooting for Mike at this point, I think…

Have a great night!

p.s. Tomorrow is my 27th birthday, holy crap! 😉

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 5, 2009, in Dinner and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love making new recipes on nights when Jack is gone, too! I feel better experimenting on myself and the kids than my hubby. I am so excited about TBL, too! I am rooting for Tara, but Mike has become such a hunky hunk and is sweet, too. So I would be happy for either one of them. But they have all done so great and all look amazing.

    I have never tried tofu but would interested in “experimenting” with it sometime.

    Enjoy your Birthday-Eve! Inching closer and closer to your 30s! Love ya, girl! 🙂

  1. Pingback: Challenge Day 2 « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

