5K training halfway point

I’m now two weeks into my 5K training and I have to say, I’m LOVING this program! It is technically supposed to last 5 weeks but since my race is in two, I cut it down to 4, so I’m halfway there already, wow!!

This program works for me mostly because it has me running every other day, giving me a chance to really recover. The off days are actually for cross-training so I’m not just sitting around or anything 😉 At first it felt like I was doing more cross-training than running but now it all makes sense — the cross-training (and rest day) actually helps me run better and easier!

On Monday, I ran 2.23 miles with my friend Farrah and it was fantastic! It was the most comfortable I’ve felt running in a while, so I know I can build back up to 3.1. I’m planning on sticking to 5K races this summer because that’s all that’s coming up really. And its my preferred running distance now!

I’ve only ran one other time this week (treadmill-15 minutes) and I was supposed to run on Friday but I was so sore from Thursday’s workout and I left my running shoes at home 😦

But I just listened to my body (and the universe apparently) and took a day off. Saturday is meant to be a rest day but since I’m not resting today, it can be traded out with yesterday. I love the flexibility of training programs, its the only way to go.

Our next 5K is being held on Saturday, May 23rd! Only two weeks to go!

I’m not planning to PR at this race. I used this race last year just to keep up my running (which unfortunately didn’t last) and I’m using it this year to get back into racing short distances which I do plan to keep up long term. We have another 5K scheduled for June 21st and I hope by that one, I will have worked on speed a bit and see if I can’t push to get under 30:25, which I did at the Anthem 5K back in early March.

Thanks for all the love and support, you guys are the best!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 9, 2009, in 5k, running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Oh we’re halfway there… 😉 Sounds like running is going well!!

  2. Good luck with your training…I am thinking of running my first 5K in September but I am really nervous about actually doing it because of my foot.

    Have a great weekend!

  3. Good luck with your training! Sounds like so much fun! My Komen 5K is June 13th and I can’t hardly wait!! It is so beautiful here today, I wish I could have run outside this morning but I stuck to the ‘mill. Hope you are having beautiful weather too!

Leave a Reply

