Summer Project : Make Husband Healthier!

At his request and my own interest in the process, my summer project has become…Making My Husband Healthier! I think a person needs to make their own decisions and choices when it comes to their diet but since he specifically asked me for help, he’s going to get it!

It will be like this only reversed!

It will be like this only reversed!

Josh, as cool and smart as he is, cannot do this on his own, yet. He needs guidance, information and a plan — it helps having a wife who is into all things healthy πŸ™‚

He is “my project” because eventually, I would like to have a job where I helped people get healthy for a living. So he’s sort of my crash test dummy. But I should really call him my Summer “challenge” because…

  • He is a VERY picky eater!
  • The only exercise he gets is driving and standing up to cook dinner
  • He can be very stubborn (like me, haha)
  • He’s not as adventurous with trying new foods (if he hated it as a kid, its probably not going to happen)
  • He has some really bad habits (french fries dipped in ranch dressing anyone?) that need to be broken
  • I live with him, so I’m going to have to hear how much this sucks (hopefully not)

I’m not going to bother him or me with taking his weight and measurements. We have a scale if he wants to step on it. But for me, this challenge/project is less about those numbers and more about getting him healthier and taking him right off the track to Type 2 Diabetes. His dad and two uncles all have it and one of them just had to have a kidney transplant after suffering complications. If that’s not enough to scare him, I don’t know what would.

I’ve been working on an eating plan for him for some time now, using foods I know he likes, and making sure he’s eating enough throughout the day because he’s one of those that will eat carbs in the morning, eat a light lunch, then pack it all in at night. That’s not going to work!

I know I’m going to have to pre-package snacks (and some meal components) for him because he’s not one to take the time to prepare ahead. Hopefully he will someday but for now I’m going to have to help!

He’s not a label reader or a portion measurer, so these things are going to be learned. He doesn’t know how many calories he’s supposed to have in a day so how does he know whether or not something has too few or too many? He also knows nothing about fat, fiber, protein, sodium, etc. Whew!

He’s also worried that him eating healthier means our grocery budget will grow. Not so! I’ve been doing this long enough to know how to make food last, how to save using coupons, buying what’s on sale or in season, etc. The most expensive thing we buy is meat, so as long as we don’t start getting more of that, we should stay the same.

As far as fitness goes, there is a gym near our house that is pretty affordable so we’re going to get him a membership there. I told him there were exercises he could do at home and outside (hello, great outdoors?!) but he’s one that needs the motivation of the gym, his place to get away. So we’ll do what he needs to do. His goals are to lose fat and tone up and I know he can do it once he gets started!

I know I’ll never get him to eat tofu or bean sprouts or run a marathon but I have great hope that my husband, given the right tools and support, can truly turn his life around, back toward healthy πŸ™‚

Wish us luck!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 9, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. This is an awesome plan! I can’t wait to read your progress! Good luck to both of you!

  2. Good luck to your hubby! I am sure he will do great with your guidance (and love)

  3. oh and that pick made me crack up =)

  4. Awesome awesome!!!!

  5. courtneydarling

    That was fourth of July, lol.

  6. Haha, sure was, what a good night that was πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

