Reflections on 1st challenge, what’s next?

I think I did really well on the no calorie counting challenge from last week. There were a few instances where I almost felt out of control (I celebrated my birthday again this weekend!) but by talking to myself and trying to be more intuitive, I was able to adjust and get back on track. I do not think that couting calories prevented these types of things either, so there is no need to go back right now. 🙂

The most important thing I have learned from this challenge is to take each day or even each meal by itself at a time and to focus on positive aspects of my daily eating habits and not beating myself up when I make certain choices or don’t get enough veggies, etc. I also like feeling free from calculating and tabulating every tiny bit that goes into my mouth and yet I have not lost the “structure” of healthy eating. So challenge #1…success!

Weekly Challenge #2

Since my husband is beginning his new healthy eating habits today, I have begun to research some new recipes so that our dinners together don’t seem so repetitive and he doesn’t get burned out. Plus its exciting for me to try new recipes and I’ve been thrilled to find that many of my cookbooks have “Josh friendly” meals in them.

So, weekly challenge #2 is all about meal planning. While my focus this week will mostly be dinner, I hope to become more of a meal planner, which I think will help keep things exciting when we eat together and also could help the focus of our grocery list each week because we will know exactly what ingredients to get.

Tonight will be the first pre-planned meal. I am making Ellie Krieger’s Crispy Chicken Fingers recipe (also seen on The Hungry Yogini) only I’m keeping them whole as crispy chicken breasts. I’m really excited to make a new recipe that is quite simple and my husband is a fried chicken lover so I’m hoping this will prove to be a tasty and healthier alternative!

So the challenge for this week and beyond is…

  • Plan dinner for each night of the week ahead of time (before Friday-grocery shopping day)
  • Make grocery list including ingredients needed for new recipes
  • Try at least 1 new recipe per week
  • Make a meal plan for husband on nights I’m not home
  • Research healthy options at restaurants ahead of time for nights we eat away from home
  • Keep up aspects of the previous challenge, making healthy choices but not counting every calorie!

Hope you all have a great week and succeed in your challenges as well!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 11, 2009, in challenges, Dinner and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Sounds like an awesome challenge! =D

  2. Congrats on the 1st and good luck to the 2nd!!

  3. Hey Sarah,

    I’m a first time reader and I love what I see! I’ll be back. 😀

    What a wonderful challenge! Good luck.

    Have a great Tuesday,

    Emily

  1. Pingback: Challenge #4…what’s next? « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Another new challenge « See Sarah Eat

  3. Pingback: Deja vu « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

