Calistoga Cafe

This weekend I got to try a new restaurant, not once, but twice!

The first time we visited Calistoga Cafe was for lunch on Saturday after a 5K we did for our local Humane Society 🙂

Cute doggie alert!

Suzie after walking her first 5k!

Suzie after walking her first 5k!

Calistoga reminds me a lot of Panera but with a different flair. They have mostly sandwiches and soups and serve breakfast too, including their own homemade bagels and pastries. They have a coffee bar too and offer a few flavors of smoothies. Everything is fairly reasonable in price too, especially for the volume of food you get.

For lunch, I ordered the Monterrey Veggie wrap with a side of potato salad (you could pick that or chips, an obvious choice for me). The wrap contained “hummus, feta cheese, caramelized onions, sliced tomatoes, sliced cucumbers, banana peppers, roasted red peppers and leaf lettuce” only I don’t at all remember tasting hummus, mostly because there was just way too much feta stuffed in there (its true, you can have too much)!
I unfortunately lost my picture of the wrap but I managed to save the pasta salad!
calistogalunch
This was so good, I devoured it! Very lightly and tasty. It made me want to find a recipe to make my own pasta salad at home sometime or to take to a party.
The next time we visited was the very next day for my mom’s Mother’s Day breakfast 🙂
I ordered a cup of their steel cut oatmeal (which came with golden raisins and brown sugar) and a fruit cup, that contained fresh pineapple, strawberries and cantaloupe. Very fresh and very much in season!
calistogabreak 
All fixed up!
calistoga oatmeal
The only thing this was missing was some nuts or PB, haha…I just used a couple tsp’s of brown sugar and all the golden raisins (about 1/4 cup). This breakfast was yummy, filling and only just over $5.00!
I will definitely be going back to Calistoga and trying some of the other items on their menu. They have free Wi-Fi too, yippee!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 12, 2009, in Breakfast, Lunch, restaurants and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. What a great restaurant!! Sounds healthy 🙂

    • It did seem very healthy! The wrap was whole wheat which was impressive to me. The breakfast oatmeal & fruit was very fresh and didn’t have anything funky added to it. My mom got a yogurt parfait, I should’ve taken a picture of that, it was yummy too (I had a bite)!

  1. Pingback: Perfect day « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

