Challenge numero 3

Hey folks!

It’s a new week, which means it is time for a new challenge…this week’s challenge will be…Cutting the Caffeine!

As you all have witnessed here at See Sarah Eat (and drink, apparently) I like to drink coffee and hot tea regularly although not truly in excess. I stick to one cup of coffee in the mornings (two on the weekend) and then 1-2 cups of tea in the afternoon and evening, at least one of them being caffeine free.

But we all know that caffeine doesn’t come from just coffee and tea. I do have the occasional diet soda (ick, I’m giving up again, they make me bloat and feel icky) and lately I’ve grown quite accustomed to having a piece of dark chocolate or two almost every day. It adds up!

I’m not totally against caffeine and this challenge is not to cut it out completely, though I have done that before. Instead, this week’s challenge is to be AWARE of how much caffeine I am consuming on average and to start a gradual cut back to a normal and healthy level. A level that would allow me to not be dependent.

I want to get to where its not a big deal to skip a cup of coffee once in a while or have a Starbucks drink one day and not the next without the serious headaches and grouchiness. I want to enjoy the coffee and tea I drink for its taste and antioxidants (which I do) and not for its keeping me awake benefits.

So for today, Day 1 of Challenge # 3, I’m going to go about my normal ways and count up how much caffeine I’ve had. Tomorrow I’m going to subtract one thing and see what difference it makes.

I guess this is really less of a challenge and more of an experiment, but it will still be fun!

Challenges 1 and 2 are sticking. I’m still not counting calories and Josh and I are sticking to our weekly meal plans, preparing ahead of time and having fun by trying new recipes. This week we are going to try another Ellie Krieger recipe, this time for Chicken Parmesan, yum!

Happy start to a new week 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 18, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

Leave a Reply

