Belated Birthday Post

I can’t believe my 27th birthday was already two weeks ago! What have I been doing?? Time flies.

I had a great time celebrating with my girlfriends, which of course involved some excellent food 🙂

For dinner, we went to this amazing restaurant here in Louisville called August Moon. My mom is the one who introduced me to it many years ago but I hadn’t been there since my 1st wedding anniversary (which is almost 3 years ago)! So I was happy to get back.

I started off with the hot and sour soup which cleared out my sinuses a bit, very tasty!

food 027

For my main entree, I ordered the hot and spicy tofu + vegetables, which I ate with a side of brown rice. It was delicious!

food 028

The portion was quite a bit but since it was just veggies and tofu, I didn’t get really overly full and I ate every last bit of what I was served 🙂

Since the waitress knew it was my birthday, they brought out a complimentary dessert…warm bananas (wrapped like egg rolls!) with chocolate and raspberry sauce. I had one and a half, so good! I should eat bananas this way more often 😉

food 029

My real dessert was back at Courtney’s house for my infamous pink cupcakes! For some reason, one year on my birthday, Courtney made strawberry cupcakes with strawberry icing (out of the box) and ever since then, its the only dessert I can imagine wanting on my birthday. I just love them! But I try to limit myself to only eating them on my birthday, which makes it more special 🙂

food 032

I think I had 3 or 4 over the course of the night along with some tea while we watched Flight of the Conchords and Justin Timberlake hosting SNL. It was a great night!! One of the better birthdays I’ve had in a while, if not the best. Thanks girls!

food 034

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 20, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. So we have a Chinese restaurant here called August Moon except it’s a total dive an the certain letter’s don’t have bulbs in them so it’s looks like Augus Moo 😉

    Glad you had a great time!!

  2. Hey Sarah! I just found your blog recently through another blog I read. I was excited to find it because I live in Louisville too! You have been going to some of my favorite eats around town recently 🙂

  1. Pingback: Yes, I ate a donut « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

