Adventures in caffeine reduction

Happy Thursday blog readers 🙂 I can’t believe we’re already on the downward slope of this week!

So, today is Day 4 of my caffeine acknowledgement challenge and subsequent attempts to reduce my overall intake and eliminate dependency altogether.

Yesterday (Day 3), I had my normal 1 cup of coffee in the morning but then, in the afternoon, I had a cup of decaf chamomile tea. The only difference I felt was that I was not quite as “alert” as I usually am when I drink caffeinated, but I had no headaches or erratic mood swings that I know of 😉

Day 3 total = 141 mg caffeine

Day 2 total = 186 mg

Day 1 total = 236 mg

I also had a cup of decaf peppermint tea at the girls’ night potluck. One thing I did not know is that both chamomile and peppermint are herbal teas and thus naturally decaffeinated requiring no removal to take place. Even cooler! Those are my two favorites anyway.

As you can see, I have already reduced my daily intake by almost 100 mg since Monday!

Today, I have had a cup of coffee already and at this moment am contemplating some tea. I still have two bags of Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride left over from the holidays so I think I will use one of those…decaf!

Tomorrow (Friday, yay) I will most likely repeat today but on the weekend, I’m going to try English Breakfast tea in the mornings and see how that goes. If I can make that change, even just on the weekends, it would mean 40 mg of caffeine vs. 130’ish. WOW.

**Once again, I want to point out that I am not against caffeine. I am a huge coffee and tea lover with no plans to give them up. What I am doing is an experiment, meant only for me, and not trying to get you to stop drinking it yourself. Caffeine does have some AMAZING health benefits and when taken in moderation, it can be very good for you. My consumption had just become borderline (over moderation) and I wanted to nip that in the bud before it got too far. Thanks!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 21, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

