Musselman’s Healthy Picks

I cannot remember a time in my life when I did not eat applesauce. It was pretty much a staple in my parents’ house (and still is even without me) and its a snack very much enjoyed by my husband and I in our home as well. However, when I made the healthy lifestyle jump, I realized just how many things can be added to applesauce by companies who put taste before health!

I’m always sure to tell my readers as well as my family and friends that unsweetened applesauce is the best (its just apples!) and adding a little cinnamon goes a long way. But every now and then, some flavor change can be a good thing. But how do we do that without adding sugar or artificial colors and flavors?

I’m glad you asked. This week, I have had the pleasure of sampling a new line of flavored applesauce from Musselman’s!

Healthy_Picks_Group_Image

Introducing Musselman’s Healthy Picks!

015

These are a new line of flavored applesauce that you can feel good about tossing into your lunch bag. Each 4 oz container is just 70 calories, contains just 10-11 grams of sugar, provides 3 grams of fiber and Vitamin C (25% DV), Calcium (10%) and Iron (2%). They come in three flavors:

Raspberry Acai

I actually tried this flavor last but I put it first because it was my favorite. It was sweet and fruity but not overpowering like some of the other fruit-flavored applesauce on the market. This makes a nice snack or dessert following lunch. Even though this one was my favorite, I managed to NOT take a picture of it, hmm…guess I spent more time devouring the cup than photographing it 🙂

Blueberry Pomegranate

This is the first flavor I tried and while I enjoyed it, it wasn’t my favorite of the three. The Raspberry Acai made the other two seem subpar in comparison! I could definitely taste the blueberry more than pomegranate, but it did make me want some pom seeds really bad, its been a long time.

018

019

Key Lime Cupuaçu

This flavor was very much different than the other too in that its consistency was somewhat chunky. I was not expecting this but once I started eating it I got used to it. I did not taste as much like Key Lime as I had imagined, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing because that is a flavor where less is more for me. This one was not my favorite but I wouldn’t turn it down if someone offered it to me.

2790019cec06__1243875396000

92b20f1b7052__1243875296000

We have all heard the health benefits of pomegranate and acai recently but I had never heard of Cupuacu. Luckily, Musselman’s PR team provided me with this excellent information:

“Cupuaçu comes from a small tree that is related to the Cacao tree. It fights cancer and disease; increases stamina, alertness and energy; improves digestion; eases pain; and improves the skin’s appearance by maintaining its elasticity and suppleness.”

You can get that in your applesauce! 🙂

Here are some more interesting facts in case you are interested:

  • Apples contain complex carbohydrates that give you energy faster than eating something high in sugar. (Howtothinkthin.com)
  • Antioxidants prevent and repair damage caused by free radicals that are naturally produced when our cells use oxygen. A diet rich in antioxidants can prevent health problems such as heart disease, macular degeneration, diabetes and cancer. (Healthcastle.com)
  • Açaí is a reddish-purple fruit that comes from the açaí palm tree. Açaí increases energy and stamina; fights cancer, disease and obesity; boosts the immune system; helps maintain good cholesterol; improves vision and digestion; and promotes more peaceful sleep. (Webmd.com, Acaiberrystudies.com)
  • The pomegranate is one of the earliest fruits found in history. It fights breast, lung and prostate cancer; protects the neonatal brain from damage after injury; prevents cartilage deterioration; protects the arteries and teeth from plaque buildup; prevents Alzheimer’s disease; and lowers cholesterol and blood pressure. (Healthdiaries.com, Womens-health-questions.com)
  • I’ve always liked the option of having applesauce as a fruit serving with lunch or as part of a healthy afternoon snack or dessert. When you add different flavors into the mix, it definitely keeps things exciting. I could also see kids enjoying these very much.

    Thank you Musselman’s for allowing me to review this product, I would definitely buy this and recommend it to everyone who loves applesauce!

    About Sarah Frankel

    I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

    Posted on June 8, 2009, in reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

    1. thanks for the review! I have seen these in the supermarket before but never tried it but I will be sure to pick some up soon =) I heart applesauce too

    1. Pingback: There’s falafel in my burger! « See Sarah Eat

    2. Pingback: My first giveaway! « See Sarah Eat

    Leave a Reply

