Strange challenge

The reading challenge I posed to myself last week went decently. I managed to read every day during the week but once I hit Saturday, I was simply too busy and wired to sit down with my book. But I figured, 5 out of 7 days is pretty darn good considering I’ve been known to go for weeks without reading anything (other than blogs of course)!

This week, I decided to go a different route…I am already a day behind, but this one will just have to run Tuesday to Tuesday. Although, as I’ve stated before, this “Weekly Challenges” of mine are not meant to last only a week. They are meant to show me that if I can do (or not do) something for an entire week, chances are I can do it long term.

Anyway, back to the different route. I usually don’t like to exclude or deny myself things but lately I’ve had too much ice cream! Yes, I’ve tried different types (dairy and non-dairy), flavors and alternate between store bought and true ice cream stores such as Graeter’s and Bruester’s. But every day or even 5 days out of a week is just too much. Ice cream needs to be a once or twice a week treat only!

So, I’m challenging myself to abstain from ice cream for seven days. After the seven days, I will eat ice cream again but only once or twice a week maximum. I think the best way to do this will be to not keep it in the house, even though it is tempting in this summer heat to eat ice cream for dinner every night.

I also want to point out that eating ice cream every day is not necessarily a “bad” thing. What is wrong is that its become a “habit” and I’m not getting the same amount of enjoyment out of it as I would if it were an occasional treat. Do you see the difference? I want to truly experience and savor my treats not have them become routine or boring. Because for me, when things get too routine or boring, in my food world, I am not satisfied and therefore go back for something else.

So there you have it folks, Challenge No.Ā 6 – Cut back on ice cream consumption. Here we go!

Hope your Monday was fabulous and that your Tuesday will be the same.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 9, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I think I should join you with that challenge; I too have been eating way too much icecream, ice, sherbet etc lol…

    • Its so easy to do, especially this time of year and with all the varieties available out there! I think even after this, I’m not going to buy it to keep at home anymore. If I’m going to have it, I’m going to have to work for it, haha šŸ™‚

  2. I might copy your challenge =) btw I gave you a shout out ayer on my blog lol

  3. That is an awesome challenge–I’m in the same “habit”, and you’re right; it’s just the same enjoyment as if I had it only a couple times a week. I am on board with this challenge, too!

    thanks for the inspiration!

  4. oops, my comment should have said, “it’s NOT the same enjoyment”. LOL Freudian slip?!

  5. Good luck with your new challenge! You can do it!

  6. Now I’m feeling a little guilty about my coffee cup full of cookies n cream that I’ve had the past two nights!! It was low fat but whatever… šŸ˜‰ I’m thinking maybe I should join you in this challenge! Although, we are going to STL this wknd and I have a feeling that a ColdStone or Ted Drewes custard treat will be in my near future…so maybe I will start on Sunday! teehee

    Love ya, girl! Good luck! ā¤

  7. We get into huge ice cream trends during the summer too. I just don’t keep it in the house and that seems to help…until we attack the ice cream shop! I have been making myself fake sundaes with frozen berries, light whipped cream, a little chocolate sauce, and sprinkles. I’m sure it defeats the challenge, but it’s almost enough to think you are eating ice cream…almost.

  1. Pingback: Another new challenge « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

