Gnu bars

I received a package that included all five flavors of Gnu Bars from Amanda after winning a giveaway on her site Two Boos Who Eat. Please check out her blog if you never have 🙂

This was a while ago and it has taken me a while to get to reviewing these, but here we go!

First, I’d like to point out that these bars are very impressive when it comes to fiber content. Each one contains 12 grams, which for most of us, is half of our daily requirement! Usually to get this much fiber a bar would have more calories (or lots of fake ingredients) but each bar contains just between 130-150 calories. See how Gnu bars stack up compared to other convenience foods. The Gnu bars also contain no HFCS, hydrogenated oils or added sugars. That is refreshing news!

Now, let’s talk about taste…

Cinnamon Raisin Bar

food 010

food 011

This was the very first one I tried and definitely my favorite of the bunch. It reminded me a lot of an oatmeal raisin cookie and I’m finding more and more that cinnamon raisin is one of my favorite flavors these days. This bar worked great as a mid-morning snack and I would definitely like to try this one again.

Peanut Butter Bar

food 037

As a fan of all things peanut butter flavored, this bar left much to be desired. It was okay but I guess I have been spoiled with other really great peanut butter bars that this one just didn’t measure up. I also tried to eat this as an afternoon snack between lunch and dinner and it ended up being a major fail. What I’ve learned is that in the afternoons, to keep hunger at bay, I really need protein. This bar only contains 4 grams 😦

Chocolate Brownie Bar

cb_bar

Major blech! I did not find this to taste anything near a chocolate brownie. It tasted much like a chocolate flavored fiber bar. I was hoping for more like a Clif Z bar taste, which to me has the best chocolate brownie bar on the market. This was also eaten as an after lunch snack, since I unfortunately didn’t learn my lesson the first time. I think the main problem is I am very much over eating chocolately bars 😦

Orange Cranberry bar

oc_bar

This one was pretty decent and the orange flavor (and smell) had a way of waking me up, which I always enjoy about orange flavored things (their refreshing quality). I think it is a characteristic of citrus in general. This one wasn’t my favorite of the bunch but I would definitely try it again as it was light and fruity, but not too much, which is always enjoyable to me.

And last but not least…I think…

Banana Walnut Bar

bw_bar

Sadly, I was not able to try this bar. I took it with me to work and when I opened it, the bar itself was covered in dust (ew) and the package said it had expired 2 days prior. I guess that is the price you pay for not having those nasty preservatives in your food but I was a bit disappointed, since I’m also a big fan of banana-flavored things. Hopefully I’ll get the opportunity to try this one again in the future.

Overall

I have to say that overall, even with their impressive fiber content, I was not blown away by the Gnu bars. I think they would be an excellent way to get some fiber, for those of you who might be struggling to meet the daily requirement, but since I do not need them for that purpose, I see no need to get them in the future. The only flavor that really tasted great to me was the Cinnamon Raisin so I may purchase that one and I still want to give the Banana Walnut a fair shot, so we’ll see.

But, I think for now, I will stick to what I like and be grateful for the opportunity (for free) to know that I did not like these very much.

Thanks again, Amanda! Good luck with the wedding 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 10, 2009, in products, Snacks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I LOVE Gnu bar- especially the chocolate brownie- yum!!

  2. Steven Allenson

    The Gnu bars are my favorite!!! You can keep your mega fake Choco-clifs. The Banana Waknut is Amazing.

  3. Great reviews! I agree 110% 🙂

    That’s weird about the banana one being covered in dust. It’s actually my 2nd favorite flavor so I hope you get to try it soon!

  4. That is so odd about the banana walnut one. Stupid! I’m so sorry!!!

    Glad you got to try ’em out. I am over them too. Andy loves Gnu bars though so he keeps eating them. I’m still on the hunt for the perfect bar!

Leave a Reply

