Recent meal inventions

I’ve been experimenting with some new meal ideas lately but I’m pretty sure I can’t take credit for any of them since I read so many blogs and recipe websites. But they are inventions for my household, so that makes things exciting for me.

Here are just a few new things I’ve tried out recently:

001

Tuna Hummus Salad – one packet of albacore tuna with 1/4 cup Sonny & Joe’s hummus on top of mixed greens with chopped cucumber and tomato. I had this with a slice of pita bread on the side!

001

Tofu Veggie Stir Fry – extra firm tofu sauteed with mushrooms and chopped onion in buffalo wing sauce and served over brown rice. I used Azumaya brand of tofu and it turned out much better (firmer) than all the other brands I’ve tried before, I’ll be getting this one again!

071

Finally, I tried another of Ellie Kriger’s recipes, the one for Chicken Mushroom Quesadillas only I excluded the chicken from mine (but Josh loved it) and added more of the veggies to it. Here’s how mine looked cooking in the pan:

005

These were so easy to make and it tasted even better than it looked! Served with some salsa and sour cream 🙂

007 

Thanks for checking it out, hopefully I can come up with some more very soon!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 10, 2009, in Dinner, Lunch and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Oooh, I will have to look up the recipe for those quesadillas…they look fabulous!!

  2. That stir fry looks AMAZING! The tofu and the mushrooms?! I’m in love!

  3. Those quesadillas look fantatic! I will have to add those to my list of things to experiment with soon!

  4. Yums I think I will be making the Quesadilla!

  5. BTW what Buffalo Wing sauce do you recommend?

Leave a Reply

