There’s falafel in my burger!

Hey guys, I’m back! I feel like a real food blogger today. Let’s talk lunch, shall we?

I mentioned earlier that I would be trying the Sunshine Falafel burger at lunch today and now it’s that moment of truth…first of all, I should’ve remembered frozen foods etiquette and not refrigerated the patty with the rest of my lunch for 4 hours. Here it is going into the micro:

food 011

On top of my Chuck Liddell book that I hope to finish today because its overdue at the library! 😉

Anyway, after a good minute or so in the ‘wave, I managed to place it carefully on some whole wheat bread and topped it with some regular yellow mustard. I seriously debated condiments for this thing, I love the taste of falafel and I didn’t want to ruin it with sauces, cheese or anything else so plain ol’ mustard seemed like the way to go. Here is my entire lunch, including carrots + cucumber and spicy hummus, and a Musselman’s applesauce:

food 012

I managed to get through another chapter of the book after I ate, hooray!

The mustard worked really fine at being a neutral condiment to this amazing burger. It tasted just like falafel as I’m used to having it, only in burger form. I tried to get a close up but this picture does not do it justice.

food 014

I don’t have any at home right now but I’m thinking next time, I’m going to have to drizzle some tahini sauce on this bad boy. Mmm hmm…

A little while after lunch, I made myself some herbal peppermint tea and had a nice piece of dark chocolate, courtesy of Courtney who is always so gracious to share her candy stash with me including Dove, Bliss, jelly beans, I feel as though I owe her a gigantic bag of candy from all that I’ve eaten over the years 🙂

food 015

One of my favorite things about the Dove chocolates (other than being awesome!) is the messages on the inside of the wrappers…this one says “Laugh, laugh and laugh some more.” Great advice!

food 016

I just finished my afternoon snack of two Ryvita crackers with some Krema natural PB. I just realized today that I had been on a huge PB&Co kick at one point but these days I am really enjoying the more natural, not very sweet, peanut butters. I guess it just shows you that like the seasons, our tastes go through phases and this is what I am on right now.

food 017

Money shot:

food 019

Pretty yummy schmeary goodness!

Hope you all are enjoying this fine Thursday. It’s raining and possibly storming here, but you’d never know by my mood 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 11, 2009, in Lunch, products, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I have so been there before with putting a frozen product with my lunch in the frdige at work. Doesn’t look liek any true damage was done though 🙂

  2. Glad the falafel burger was good! I need to try it soon!!

  3. ahhh I’ve always wanted to try those Sunshine burgers!! That really does look good though…I believe it must be your combo that makes it so good (i love mustard!!!) hheheehehe

    I totally agree with you on our tastes and how they ebb and flow. 🙂 Sometimes too sweet isn’t all that good – that’s what i hear pb&co is like. Good for you for pointing that out!!!

  4. mmm . . . i love falafel, such great spices and flavor!
    and I think I want to jump right in that peanut butter 🙂

  1. Pingback: Better veggie burgers too « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

