Feeling green

I’m trying to remember what life was like before I discovered green monsters…having trouble…remembering.

I have found that these are an excellent way to start off the day. The way I made this one today, it gets me a dairy serving (1 cup 1% milk), fruit serving (2 really, it was a LARGE banana), some good Omega-3’s (flax) and a whole lotta veggies (several handfuls of spinach)!

The only thing that keeps me from not being able to drink these alone as breakfast is the protein lack. I’ve seen several other bloggers make their green smoothies with a scoop of protein powder, so I’m definitely going to have to try that.

Today I had mine with a slice of whole wheat bread with peanut butter.

002

For those of you who dabble in green smoothies, or smoothies in general, what is your winning combination?

Have a great Friday and a wonderful weekend 🙂

If you are interested…I found this really great website called I Am Second which features videos of musicians, athletes, actors, and also some people like you and me (not famous) who have been through struggles in their life and they all talk about how they came to know God. Its pretty awesome, you should check it out. So far I’ve watched Jason Castro, Brian Head Welch and Darrell Waltrip 😉

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 12, 2009, in Breakfast, websites and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I have become obsessed with my Strawberry smoothie with Light Muscle Milk; I had it last night for dinner and made it super thick so I had to use a spoon, I think I tricked myself into thinking it was ice cream (ssshhhhh)

  2. It’s STILL not warm enough to justify making smoothies for me but come mid July I’ll be on the green train!

  3. sweetkaroline

    I totally understand the green monster protein deficiency by itself!

    I usually add a tablespoon of peanut butter AND a tablespoon of old-fashioned oats.

    I find those two add ins make for a more substancial smoothie!

  4. I’ve tried making a green monster once…didn’t have much luck. I may have done better if it wasn’t so…..green. Ha! Thanks for the head up on the website, I’ll have to check it out! And again for your race donation…race is TOMORROW!!! And I just got an email saying that I was one of the top 100 fundraisers! Not too shabby for 55,000+ people! Thank you helping make it possible! Have a fantastic Friday!

  5. This morning, my green goddess was made with 1 cup of vanilla coconut milk (OMG, better than almond milk, soy milk, regular milk(YUCK, you do know your dairy milk has puss and antibiotics, trust NO ONE!)), 3 handfuls of spinache, big spoonful of flazseed, 1 large frozen banana. I recommend frozen bananas. 1 cup of frozen blueberries. AMAZING drink.

    Starr in Cali

    • Thanks Starr! I’ve had coconut milk before but not in a green smoothie, I’m going to have to try it. Yes, I know the dangers of dairy. I’m trying to gradually get away from it or at least buy organic cow’s milk from now on. Just trying to use up what the husband bought. Thanks for the comment 🙂

  6. I love green smoothies. YUM! Sometimes I add hemp protein powder to it and sometimes I add SunWarrior’s Raw Rice protein to them. Good stuff!

    Cheers,

    Kristen

Leave a Reply

