Breakthrough

Sunday night, as I was walking my dog around 8:30, I had a revelation. I was wearing flannel pajama pants and a really tight black “Bob Dylan Forever” tank top because that’s how I roll; it’s never too early for pjs! I should’ve taken a picture of that.

We were almost back to the house, when I noticed that my tank top was riding up on me causing my stomach to stick out a bit. But I didn’t care. I pulled it back down and laughed. It hit me then and I realized just how comfortable I am with my body now, finally.

I have accepted my faults, none of which are truly faults, but they are just things I notice. My stomach still looks “flabby” even though I’ve lost weight, done a ton of abs work and cardio, etc. The reason is that I have excess skin thanks to years of abuse — stretching out my stomach — which is where I tend to gain weight first. But I don’t mind it anymore. Only one person besides me (well, and the dog) sees it and they both still love me 😉 I have also found clothes that hide it rather well, so who cares?

I also have a little bit under my arms and inner thighs but those have never really bothered me. In fact, I am so proud of my arms and legs! They have walked, ran, and lifted weights, done yoga and other amazing things.  My upper body is probably my favorite because it is where I notice the biggest difference in my weight loss and training. I actually have visible arm muscles now!

Anyway, the point of this post was to let you know that I have accepted myself, just the way I am. I worked really hard to get to this place and there’s no going back, only forward. I am proud of all that I have accomplished, but especially my newfound interests in running, healthy foods and nutrition, as well as maintaining such a large loss for a year and a half now. I am proof that it takes true lifestyle changes, things that you can live with long term.

Now that I have challenged myself to no longer count calories and have thrown the scale in the back of the closet, I am so much more relaxed and comfortable with my day-to-day eating and exercise. There’s no more pressure!

This looks exactly like my dog, who does the same thing!

This looks exactly like my dog, who does the same thing!

And anytime I’m feeling down, I can always go back to this post and remember how things used to be and what they are now!

Thank you for reading this.

p.s. I think this might have something to do with the fact that I have done yoga the past two days, but hey, whatever works 😉

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 15, 2009, in accomplishments and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I am so proud for you AND happy for you! I love reading your blog, you are so uplifting! kudos on all the great work!

    I can live in my pj’s =)

  2. CONGRATULATIONS!!! I’m so happy you’re accepting your body. That’s HUGE 🙂 I wish everyone could come to this realization. As long as you’re healthy, that’s all that matters! Kudos to you!!

  3. Thank you all for the sweet comments 🙂

  4. What an inspiring post, Sarah. Yay YOU!!

  1. Pingback: Number 702 « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

