Humidity is killer

My run this morning was quite hot and sweaty even though we went at 9 o’clock to avoid the heat. Actually, the temperature didn’t rise too much throughout the day, but it was so humid! Sometimes that can be as bad if not worse.

But we got about 4.23 miles in around 46 minutes. We used the Fartlek technique for a while but had to take a couple of short walking breaks due to the major sweat fest.

My next 5K is on Saturday!!

After I got back, I snacked on some mixed nuts and raisins. I actually combined these two myself (1/4 cup nuts + 2 tbsp raisins) to make a sort of trail mix…the only thing it was missing is chocolate, ha ha.

002

These held me over so well, I waited and waited to eat lunch. Finally, around 12:30 I heated up some split pea soup (Health Valley brand, very good!) which I topped with the final two Ryvita crackers. I love using stuff up because it means I can go buy new stuff now 🙂

003

I also started drinking this…

004

Kombucha!

I had never tried this drink before but I saw it when I stopped into the World Market over the weekend so I decided to give it a shot. The smell threw me…it smelled like vinegar! But the taste was pretty good. It is hard to describe but its definitely not sweet. I drank about a third of the bottle and will probably work on it the rest of the week.

I didn’t realize it comes in more than one flavor, I must’ve had original?

I ate this orange about an hour after lunch when a sweet craving came on. Fruit works for me almost all the time when this happens 🙂

006

Then for my afternoon snack, I tried a new yogurt from StonyfieldPomegranate Berry!

007

I tried a few bites plain first, just to see how it tasted.

008

It was so good! It was the same texture and consistency as the fat free French vanilla, which I really like for “regular” yogurt (as opposed to Greek, which is my preference). The flavor was excellent too, it tasted exactly like what it says it is and it wasn’t overly sweet like some flavored yogurts. I would definitely get this one again!

Topped with some See Sarah Eat granola

009

We just finished dinner not too long ago. I made Barilla whole grain spaghetti (Josh had Smart Taste which at least has fiber added in I think?) and topped it with Classico sauce mixed with some spinach and Morningstar “meat” crumbles.

I can’t believe I seriously just mentioned four different companies in one paragraph!

I also had a side salad made of spinach, cucumbers, shredded mozzarella cheese and a tbsp of Newman’s Own southwest dressing (yum). Oh, and how could I forget garlic bread?!

010

012

I did not eat nearly all of this, some went into a container in the fridge 🙂 Hooray for intuitive eating again!

What’s for dessert?

Now that I don’t keep ice cream or other “sweet treats” in the house, its always a debate over dessert (in my head). But it’s good to make myself think hard about something instead of just mindlessly eating it!

So, we’ll just wait and see what I feel like later on. Definitely some chamomile tea in my future 😉

Hope you’ve had a great day, thanks for stopping by. You stay classy, blogworld, ha ha…

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 15, 2009, in Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, products, reviews, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Uh the humidity was a killer here today too…guess that’s what we get for living in the midwest! Way to go sticking it out for an outside run!! You are the WOMAN!

    I need some of that granola. I keep meaning to check it out and order some…just keep forgetting! Have a great evening!

  2. Great job on your run! and din din looks so good…I heart pasta…btw how is the hubby doing with this new lifestyle? besides the butter fight =)

Leave a Reply

