Another new challenge

I made it through that no ice cream challenge, no sweat! In fact, I don’t think I’ll be having ice cream anytime soon. Maybe I’ll reserve that for a special weekend treat? I don’t want to keep it in the house anymore, that’s for sure 😉

So, what shall I challenge myself with this week? Before I get to that, let’s look back at all the challenges and see if they have stuck.

#1 – No Calorie Counting – I have only counted calories maybetwice since this challenge began on May 4th! The times I have, it has not been for weight loss purposes. Once it was just to see if I was “naturally” eating a normal amount and the other was once when I was really hungry and I thought it might’ve been due to skimping (accidentally) on some meals.

#2 – Meal Planning – The past few weeks, this one has been a challenge because Josh and I have had weird schedules, but I’m still doing my best to plan our dinner schedule in advance and keep trying new recipes at home so things don’t get boring!

#3 – Cutting Caffeine – I have reduced my caffeine intake gradually, switched to decaf coffee at home and am finding that I like to drink tea…a lot. I’m also more aware of the foods I eat that contain caffeine. I believe I’ve reduced my intake to at least half of what I was consuming before this challenge. Its still a work in progress but I feel good about what I’m doing now.

#4 – No Weighing – This has been my favorite challenge. It feels less like torture and more like a reward! I have only weighed myself once since this challenge began on May 26th, when before I was weighing myself at least weekly if not daily. I think I will still “check in” from time to time (maybe monthly or even less often) but now that the scale is in the closet, I think about it so much less and its a happy feeling.

#5 – Read More– This challenge has really stuck. While I haven’t read a lot of books since this one began (just 1.5 so far), I’ve been making it a night time ritual to go to bed a bit early so that I can read, which helps me wind down and go to sleep easier. So much better than TV!

#6 – Limit ice cream consumption– This one really was easy. Just bringing it to my attention through the blog has helped me deal with it. I love ice cream, which is exactly why I shouldn’t eat it every day. It takes the spontaneity out of it and when its kept at home, it becomes a mindless dessert for me. If I’m going to eat ice cream, its going to be special and I’m going to truly enjoy it. I’m thinking 1x/week is plenty.

So, here we are, lucky number 7. I also just had my 700th post a couple of days ago, lots of 7’s!

What’ll it be? Drumroll…

Letter writing!

I am a big fan of email, Facebook, Myspace, etc. Those mediums are very quick and convenient, however, there is just something about receiving a card or letter from a friend or family member that just makes it that much more special. There are a lot of people I can think of whom we haven’t seen in a while or even talked to recently. So my challenge this week is to write one letter (or card) for each day of the challenge to someone we haven’t seen or spoken to in a while.

After this week passes, I think a reasonable amount of cards or letters would be 3-5 per month. So long term, that is what I’m going to shoot for.

I’m mailing my first one today, this is going to be fun!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 16, 2009, in challenges and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love snail mail! I have a pen pal myself 😉 Enjoy it!!

  2. oh! I LOVE receiving and writing letters…in the old-fashioned form!
    And good job on the challenges! I’m glad you’re breaking through calorie-counting, and less weighing! Those are HUGE! BIG pat on your back!

  3. What a great challenge! a card or a letter will make anyone smile =)

    kudos on all your challenges!!!!

  4. I LOVE your challenges!!!

Leave a Reply

