Eating what you want

The last several days, I have given a lot of thought to how I eat and why I eat certain things and not others. There are times I fight with myself over what to choose for a meal or a snack, having those “requirements” in the back of my head and thinking I’m not meeting them that particular day drives me crazy!

So, it is time I gave myself some credit. I eat healthy foods: whole grains, plenty of fruits, vegetables, beans, nuts, nut butters, etc. I get a good balance of carbs, fat and protein. I also meet or exceed my fiber requirements every day not to mention all those other vitamins and minerals. So, why do I need to be so hard on myself?

This past weekend, I tried just eating what I wanted (within reason of course). I’ve also asked myself a few times “are you really hungry?” and I’m getting better at distinguishing hunger from boredom, thirst, and other faux-hunger cues. It’s not something I’ll ever be 100% at but I’m getting better every day and remaining positive in the process.

For example, on Saturday, I really wanted pizza! This almost never happens but we went for it and ate at Old Chicago for lunch, both ordering the pizza bar (aka buffet). I had a Caesar side salad with dressing on the side, which I barely used, and I picked off the croutons and 2/3 of the massive amount of cheese they put on there. I also had two small bread sticks 😉

Then I had 2 slices of some of the best veggie pizza I have ever had! The waiter brought it out special to me since there wasn’t any up on the bar when I first went up there. We tipped him well! But it had lots of veggies and was very light on the sauce and cheese (two things which usually cause pizza to upset my stomach, which is why I hardly ever “crave” it).

I felt so good about my choices, even when “dessert” came in the form of chocolate chip cookies. I ate both of them (they were small) as Josh doesn’t like chocolate chip cookies, and when I was done I did not feel bad or too full. I was pleased. I don’t eat cookies (or dessert) every day so enjoying them once in a while is a good thing.

I didn’t eat again until dinner that night (6 hours later!) when I got truly hungry and not when I thought I needed to eat. Because I listened to my body, ate what I was craving, stopped when I was full and allowed myself a sweet treat, I didn’t go raiding the pantry or eating other snacks to make up for not getting what I really wanted in the first place.

Too often, I get caught up in programmed meals and meal times or thinking I always need snacks when really sometimes I don’t. I also don’t always need a huge breakfast or fruit at every meal. I think sometimes I need to fit it all in even if that means eating more than I feel like or had room for – if you are short on a food group one day it does not matter! You start over at the next meal or the next day. Every day is not (and should not be) the same.

Just wanted to share that with you guys. Hope everyone’s week is off to a good start.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on June 29, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

