Balanced lunches

Even though I am in the process of trying to use up a lot of the food in my house, I have still found a few times this week, I have had rather balanced lunches. I’m using up what I have because I am ready to start experimenting with new foods and trying out some new recipes in the next few weeks.

To me, a “balanced lunch” covers at least a few of the “food groups” which I don’t necessarily ascribe to, but I definitely appreciate the variety and the nutrients that come from eating this way.

Case in Point # 1

food 010

Tuna (protein) in a pita pocket (grain) with carrots (veggie) + Laughing Cow cheese (milk/calcium) and some cherries (fruit).

I found this lunch to be really satisfying too, which made me think balanced lunches are the way to go 🙂

Case in Point #2

food 011

PB&J (protein) on whole wheat bread (grains) with a banana (fruit) and veggies + cheese (milk/calcium). I actually only ate the celery and a few carrots out of this bag and then put the rest in the fridge for another day. This lunch was not quite as satisfying as the tuna (PB&J never seems to fill me up for long) but it still felt good to get a variety of food in at lunch. It also took me almost an hour to eat this, which likely promoted my fullness, even if it was still short lived.

How about you? What makes a good lunch for you? Do you like to balance your meals out?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on July 9, 2009, in Lunch, products and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I try to eat balanced lunches….like a wrap with some sort of protein and veggies… hmmm does MAYO basil pesto count as calcium? if it does then I am set =)

  2. Hi Sarah…

    I’m new to reading your blog, but I had to comment. I am soooo the same way. Sister needs balance in her life! 🙂

    A standard lunch = a whole grain & a protein (pita & hummus or bread & nut butter) loaded up with fruits and/or veggies, with a side of dairy (yogurt).

Leave a Reply

