Me & cereal need a break

Over the weekend, I reluctantly bought a box of Quaker Oatmeal Squares, which I have declared to be the best and most addictive cereal ever. I have literally had at least a small cup of this cereal every night since I bought it and after having it for breakfast this morning, I’ve found that the box is almost empty!!

food 022

After a lot of thinking, I’m ready to take a break from cereal. It’s sort of like the same problem I had with ice cream…if it is in the house, I’m going to eat it at some point, whether I want it or need it. It’s not that I think cereal is bad, it’s great if you get a good brand, I just know that I don’t really need it and it’s obvious that I have a problem controlling myself when it is around.

Another reason is that when I have had it for breakfast, it doesn’t keep me full as well as other breakfast items do. After my post lastย Sunday about oat bran, I think I should mention that oat bran has been the most satisfying and filling breakfast as of late. It’s just sometimes hard to eat such a warm and heavy breakfast on really warm days. But our weather has been unseasonably mild the past couple of weeks so that hasn’t been a problem.

So, sorry cereal, but you and me? We’re on a break…just like Ross & Rachel! I honestly don’t think I can even finish was little is left in the box. Maybe I can get Josh to try it? ๐Ÿ˜‰

However, I think I am creating a new monster?! Nah.

food 023

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on July 9, 2009, in Breakfast, coffee, products and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I have the same exact problem with cereal…a box will only last me a week if even that. I can eat bowl after bowl so I try not to keep it in the house but sometimes I cave and get it. I have always been this way with it, we would always have atleast 4 different boxes in the house when we were little.

    And Ha I totally heard Ross in my head “WE WERE ON A BREAK”…one of the best shows EVER

  2. I can totally relate to this one! I’ve been eating way too much cereal. I had french toast this morning and it kept me fuller for way longer! So me and cereal are on a break too!

  3. Good, I’m glad I’m not the only one ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thanks for the comments ladies!

  4. Oh my, I need to do the same thing, Sarah! Cereal is just too easy to snack on…all the time! And the QOS-Brown Sugar is my absolute fave. Oh, but have you tried the new Frosted Mini Bites in the chocolate?? Um, yeah, DON’T. I’ve tried telling myself that they have so much fiber and are healthy but after that second little tupperware cup full, it gets a little ridiculous! I bet I would see a huge change in myself and my cravings if cereal and I took a break. Good luck to us!

  5. I love cereal – and you happened to mention my favorite kind. ๐Ÿ™‚

    But what I need an intervention from is the honey seasame Kashi TLCs…. OMG – total addiction!

    Good luck!

  6. quaker oat crack is crack. i find myself eating a ton of those every time i buy them!

Leave a Reply

