More recent product reviews

Happy Friday my friends! Hope you’ve got some awesome plans for the weekend, I know I do 😉

Let’s take a look at some products I’ve tried over the past few weeks…

SoBe Lifewater 0 – Fuji Apple Pear

food 001

This has been my absolute favorite out of the “0” bunch. I don’t drink these too often but I like to have them every now and then when I’m sick of water or I’m getting my butt kicked in a sweaty workout session. This drink is refreshing and sweet, but not too sweet or loaded with sugar like those gatorade drinks (ew). It is sweetened with PureVia (zero calorie all natural sweetener), which still doesn’t thrill me but at least it’s not asparatame or sucralose.

Next up, 365 brand organic unsweetened Rice milk

food 005

I had never tried rice milk before, only almond, soy and cow’s. I was even more hesitant when I poured some into my cereal and saw it’s almost clear color and really watery consistency. But…once I took a bite of my cereal, I was impressed how a clear, tasteless-looking milk could be so creamy and tasty. I even had no problem drinking it out of the bowl when the cereal was all gone. I would definitely get this again.

One cup = 45 calories! And a whopping 6 grams of fiber! The only “downside” is the 1g of protein, but as Caitlin and many others are pointing out on their blogs, most of us get more than enough protein from the other foods in our diet that this is not a problem.

Another fun one, Luna Sport Moons – Pomegranate!

food 009

I had hoped to save this for a good run, but they ended up coming in handy during my recent trip to Six Flags when I started feeling weak after lots of walking around and sweating (well before lunch time). I absolutely loved these and it is a good thing I only had one package (thanks to a giveaway I won on Two Boos Who Eat) or else I’d be in trouble 😉 They were sweet but not too much so, the only down side is they stuck to my teeth really badly and I can imagine that would suck during a run when you don’t really have time to stop and pick it off your teeth (ew, sorry). But as for giving me that boost, it did the trick.

And lastly, Yoplait Yo Plus yogurt – vanilla

yoplus

I used to eat Yoplait a lot until I got hardcore on avoiding artificial sweeteners and high fructose corn syrup, both of which are in the company’s light and fat free product lines. In fact, HFCS is the 2nd ingredient on many of them!

I ended up getting a coupon for the Yo Plus line and was reluctant to try it, but I reviewed the ingredients and they were pretty decent. No HFCS and no asparatame or sucralose. Each container has just 110 calories and 3 grams of fiber, but unfortunately 16 grams of sugar! Which isn’t that bad but considering this is a 4 ounce container, it’s a big higher than I would like.  Let’s talk about taste…

yoplus2

I was surprised at how creamy and tasty this yogurt was. I had become such a greek yogurt “snob” that I thought for sure this would be a nasty, runny mess. But I really loved the taste of the yogurt and although it was a small container, it worked well as a snack when paired with some granola or nuts on top.

I would buy it again (on sale or with a coupon) but probably only the vanilla flavor. I have found that I prefer either plain or vanilla yogurts, then adding real fruit to them or just topping them with some flavored granola. The fruit flavors of yogurts can have too much sugar or just be jaw-locking-ly sweet, which I can’t stand anymore.

Well, there you have it. Thanks for stopping by!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on July 10, 2009, in products, reviews, yogurt and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the great reviews! is the Yoplait yogurt better than Oikos? Oikos has stole my heart lol

  2. Thanks for the reviews! I’ve never had rice milk!

  3. Thanks for the reviews! I have seen the rice milk but have never tried it…but I totally will now!

  1. Pingback: Day 14: Pancakes = Study fuel « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

