Morning run in July?

Running outside in the summer time is almost unheard of for me, because usually it is a humid and unbearable time of year to run, even in the early morning hours!

However, God has blessed us with an amazingly mild July considering the major heat pounding we took in May and June. We’ve only hit the 80’s a handful of times (today should be 85) and in the morning its cool enough to wear a jacket while walking the dog. Usually this time of year, we have stifling 90-100 degree temps with 90-100% humidity! As I am typing this, it is 73 with 53% humidity 🙂

This morning, my workout partner canceled our early a.m. gym cardio session and I took full advantage. Who wants to go to a stinky gym on a morning like this? I set out on a short, easy 2 mile run around my neighborhood. It was glorious! It was light out, but the sun hadn’t come up yet and it was quiet.

I ate a Kashi cereal bar, took my vitamin and chugged a glass of water before I headed out 😉

003

I forgot to wear my iPod but I didn’t care because I got to listen to the calmness of the morning. No traffic yet, no one out mowing their yards, and since it is summer, no school buses. It was very relaxing. In fact, I think I may have to make it regular, at least while this cool weather lasts. I’ve heard later in the week, our humidity is returning (sometimes being in the south sucks) but we’ve been lucky thus far this summer.

I warmed up and cooled down each for 5 minutes and stretched really good when I got back before hopping in the shower. I ate breakfast at work…two slices of whole wheat bread with lots of PB and a sliced banana, plus some coffee. So nice!

004

Other Adventures in Exercise

I am so sore today! After work yesterday, I went to an hour long yoga class, which ended up being an 80 minute class! I was surprised but kind of glad because it meant it was closer to dinner time 🙂

However, I sure did experience a lot that I hadn’t before.

For instance, it was the first time I had ever had a male yoga instructor! I hadn’t been avoiding it or anything, it’s just a coincidence. But he was great! Seriously probably the best I’ve had. He was really attentive to everyone in the class and there were about 15 of us, including a pregnant woman who needed her moves customized. He walked around the room and adjusted us as needed. It was great because I really felt like I was doing everything “right” for once.

We started off doing a lot of Cat & Cow pose, which made me think it was going to be an “easy” class. Really, he was just preparing us for keeping our backs and shoulders in the right position for some really challenging moves. I can’t remember the exact flow of things, but here are some of the moves we did, I put a star next to ones that were new to me:

  • Cow Pose
  • Cat Pose
  • Downward Facing Dog
  • Bharadvaja’s Twist (seated spinal twist) *
  • Extended side angle pose
  • Chair pose (ouch, we held these for a long time!)
  • Extended triangle pose
  • Gate (or Gatekey) pose
  • High and low lunges
  • Warrior II
  • Chaturanga * (he had us come in and out of these slowly, which made it even tougher, I was sweating!)
  • Dolphin pose * (he called it a high down dog)
  • Dhanurasana (Bow Pose)
  • Cobra
  • Upward facing dog
  • Locust pose (can you guess that my back hurts today?)
  • Pigeon
  • And finally, Savasana!

I’m sure there were more. There were a lot of exercises involving the shoulders, back and legs, which is why those areas are the most sore today, not to mention my weight training workout from that morning!

Good thing today is all about cardio 🙂 I’m thinking of going for a casual walk at lunch time today.

Happy Tuesday!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on July 14, 2009, in exercise and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love early morning runs! It’s not too hot and it’s not busy outside, just very peaceful. 🙂

  2. I love this weather! It has been so nice over here too…usually I am dying around this time of year.

    that yoga class sounds great =)

  1. Pingback: Walking is great « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Another day of yoga « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

