Walking is great

After running and training for races, it is easy to get that attitude where walking just doesn’t seem like much in terms of exercise. I have to keep reminding myself that I lost the majority of my weight before I started running, so it is obvious that when you make a moderate effort at walking, it pays off! Plus, it is a fun way to catch up with friends and family 🙂

Yesterday before lunch, I took a 40-minute walk with a co-worker, which was totally fun. It is nice to get outside and enjoy the fresh air when you are stuck in an office all day. I also felt like my legs got a good workout as we encounter a small hill along the way.

Last night, I met a friend for dinner at Jason’s Deli where we both decided to get the salad bar for $6.99 and we loaded up on veggies!

3164b4011a19__1247583603000

This bowl contained:

  • Spring mix greens
  • Bean salad (garbanzos, kidney, red onion, yellow pepper)
  • Carrots, Broccoli, Cauliflower
  • Sprouts
  • Roasted Red Pepper hummus
  • Hardboiled egg
  • Olives
  • Scoop of potato salad
  • Gingerbread mini-muffin + Small piece of toast (not sure of seasoning but it was good)

After that I went back for a second (smaller) bowl and had some more bean salad, carrots & cucumbers + hummus, tiny bit of pasta salad, a mini corn muffin and some fruit (watermelon, grapes, apple). Jason’s Deli offers FREE frozen yogurt soft serve, so I had a very small cup of that to finish off the meal. I think in the future, I will pass on that because I was pretty full afterwards!

Afterwards, we put her son in the stroller and took a little stroll to the end of the street and back for about 30 minutes (which totally helped with digestion). That’s the other thing about walks…I can take several throughout the day and not have it feel like I killed myself working out!

In total, I exercised for 100 minutes yesterday (including my morning run). I did not feel tired at all until it was time to go to bed…in fact, I spent most of the day feeling energized 🙂

Just thought I would share that, Happy Wednesday, we’re halfway there!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on July 15, 2009, in Dinner, exercise, restaurants and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Sounds like a great day…you are the second person to mention Jason’s Deli…I don’t think we have them out here in NYC =(

    I miss walking on the boardwalk when I lived a block from the beach, it was very calming.

  2. That’s what I love about walking – it’s so leisurely you don’t really feel like you’re ‘working out’ 🙂

    I wish there was a Jason’s Deli up here! It sounds good!!

  3. With my pregnancy I am finding that walking has become my primary source for exercise, but man alive I can really turn it into a workout!

  4. I agree, Sarah…it’s easy to forget what a great workout walking is! After running for so long I guess I tend to get into a “run or nothing” mode, but that totally doesn’t have to be the case! Walking is a great exercise and a nice change of pace, pun intended, for those knees and feet! Love ya girl!

  5. 100 minutes??? Wow! I have to say, I try to make Sunday my Walk day, and I don’t use my car. my favorite market is 45 minute walk, and I LOVE IT! So awesome of you!
    I would LOVE you to check out my challenge and giveaway about Self Trust!
    http://thespecialktreatment.wordpress.com/

  1. Pingback: Another day of yoga « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

