Wild weekend

Usually, my friday nights are pretty relaxed, filled with grocery shopping, watching movies and sometimes going out to dinner. I sometimes joke about how old I’m getting because even on a Friday, I am in bed around 10!

But this week, we threw caution to the wind and checked out a free concert at 4th Street LiveTonic! Remember them? I loved the 90’s so it was really nostalgic for me, plus it was a great night outside (is it really August?) with great friends. And even though I felt rebellious, I still got home at a decent hour and in bed before midnight.

006

010

The best part is…we’re doing it again tonight! Only much, much later. We’re seeing a friend’s band play at a local bar and it doesn’t start until late, so this grandma is taking a nap here soon then grabbing some coffee before the show!

Yesterday’s eats were pretty unremarkable so I didn’t photograph them — all leftovers and repeat snacks. I went to the grocery store today though so things should get more interesting 😉

Breakfast this morning was very light…I had a small bowl of this cereal.

011

This cereal normally runs more $5.79 at Kroger but was on sale for $2.99 so I knew I could not pass it up. It has absolutely no sugar and makes a good snack and hopefully yogurt topping (I will find out soon)!

I ate this size “breakfast” because I knew I was going to a brunch later but I needed some fuel.

012

I met my two aunts at the Zoo for a nice 3 mile walk and boy did it wear me out! I hadn’t walked hills like that in a while so it was definitely challenging. It felt so good to get in a great workout on the weekend since I usually reserve the weekend for laziness, haha.

After my walk, I came home and got ready for a baby shower for a couple at our church. It was quite a spread of food, mostly breakfast items (my favorite) and I went for different choices than I usually do. I completely by passed the crazy carb table (all muffins, pastries, donuts, etc.) and headed for the quiches, eggs, grits and some fruit.

013

I finished that entire plate and some coffee which left me totally satisfied. Guess what else I did? I completely passed up the cake! I have found that now that I eat less sugar, I want stuff like that less and less, which makes me feel good because I always get that dreaded sugar high and crash that comes along with it.

When I got home, I sorted through coupons, made a list and checked some ads online before I went shopping. Josh has given in and decided to let me have complete control over our groceries…he just makes me a list of what he wants and I do my best to get him what he wants but as healthy as possible. He said it will be easier to resist candy and crappy cereal if he just doesn’t go to the store at all. Plus it gives me more time to comparison shop, which is easily becoming one of my passions!

To fuel this effort, I had a hard boiled egg for a snack.

014

I only went to 2 stores today (Kroger and Walmart) and while I spent the same amount of money we usually do ($50) but got a ton more stuff! The best news is that the two stores are only a mile apart so it’s not like I went out of my way and wasted gas. I think next week I won’t be getting as much because of this, so I could see us spending more like $30 next week.

Some people believe that eating healthier is more expensive, but when you stick to fresh, in season produce and avoid the extras like candy, processed snacks, sodas, etc. you actually save money in the long run. I believe if you make the effort (check prices ahead of time, find coupons, go to more than one store, etc.) it can be done.

I wasn’t completely starving at lunch time so I just had a cup of pinto beans on top of romaine lettuce with some chinese garlic sauce and sour cream. Sort of weird, but it worked. I’m full and ready for my nap!

015

Ok, so that and a spoonful of PB (that I shared with the dog)!

Have a great weekend guys!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on August 1, 2009, in Breakfast, coffee, exercise, Lunch, products, Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Check you out! Your turning into a Night Owl lol…haha koko loves pb too…

  2. What that Ezekial cereal is a STEAL! What a bargain!
    And yeah, totally agree that healthy eating need not be expensive…Esp when you buy lots of things in bullk like oats and beans and grains!

Leave a Reply

