Support

For me, one of the best things about blogging and sharing your journey is the amazing support that you receive from readers and other bloggers who understand where you are coming from.

Mari replied to my post from earlier about my most recent changes and I am so thankful for her, girl you are awesome!

Anyway, today was just a regular Monday I guess. Actually it was pretty great considering it was Monday. I started today off like I do most days with my oats!

001

Today’s combo was a bit different…I only used half a banana since I ate half of one the other day with a snack. And I went back up to 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup milk and 1/4 cup of water. Still one spoon of PB though. I am currently using Smucker’s all natural creamy. It’s on sale at Kroger for $1.99!

This was so good, it truly never gets old, for me anyway.

I had a workout with my friend at 10 a.m. and today was a cardio day. We started off warming up for 5 minutes on the treadmill, then we “rowed” with an elastic band for 10 minutes, jumped rope for 10 minutes (in 30 seconds jumping, 15 seconds rest intervals), then ran outside for 5 minutes (so fun), and came back in for a sweaty, 5 minute cooldown = 35 minutes.

In case you are wondering, we are using a workout program she found on the internet that goes for 50+ days so you have a new workout each time you go to the gym. It’s been great switching it up so much and we’re in the 30’s on the days so we still have a good few weeks left — just in time for when we start training again in the Fall (for runs).

I got back to work and drank lots of water and did a little bit of work before I decided I was not going to eat a mid-morning snack, I was just going to wait a little bit and eat lunch. I wasn’t that hungry yet (that was some powerful oatmeal) and felt more like eating my lunch next than a snack.

Could be because it was one of the best things ever…leftover pizza! I finally got hungry around 11:45.

002

I had the other half of my Kashi Roasted Vegetable pizza from last night’s dinner, plus a carrot with the rest of my Sabra hummus.

Don’t you just love how all the flavors of pizza soak in overnight and are so much more powerful the next day? Yum.

After writing that post earlier, I noticed again how incredible I am feeling — no mid afternoon slump. In fact, I got a lot of work done, figured out what to make for dinner and had some peppermint tea, which is pretty much my favorite ๐Ÿ™‚

Even though I did have carbs with lunch, it was minimal (very thin pizza crust) and I didn’t feel like I needed something sweet after lunch like I used to. I also notice that now that I don’t eat fruit or other sugary stuff with lunch, I don’t get hungry for my afternoon snack as soon (I’m usually ready at 2, which makes a 6 or 7 o’clock dinner rough).

Around 3:00, I got a little hungry, so I had a hard boiled egg that was supposed to be my mid morning snack.

003

This held me well as I continued to work away with no yawning or sitting in front of the computer mindlessly trying to remember what I had been doing. No more hitting the vending machine for a diet soda or M&M’s on days like that. No need. I don’t think I’ve mentioned this yet, but I quit chewing gum too. And surprisingly, now that it has been a couple of weeks now, I don’t even miss it! A habit I thought I could never break.

About 4:45, I got a hunger pang and decided dinner was still far enough off that another snack would not ruin my appetite and also I didn’t want to be starving when I got home because I was going to need some time to prepare it.

So, I had this mozzarella cheese stick…

004

I was so excited about the dinner I thought of!

I got a 14 ounce bag of shrimp at Walmart over the weekend (for 5 bucks!) and knew that was going to be an ingredient. I love eating seafood like shrimp, tuna and salmon because I need those Omega-3’s for my low HDL cholesterol. Plus they taste good ๐Ÿ˜‰

I decided to make a stir fry, incorporating a summer squash that I needed to use up and the rest of a red pepper from the fridge, plus an entire container of mushrooms. Oh and I used 2 cups of shrimp. This will serve as two meals for me ๐Ÿ™‚

005

I put 1 tbsp of healthy canola oil (which also contains Omega 3)ย in the pan before cooking and then tossed in 1/4 cup Texas Pete Buffalo sauce for some flava! It’s almost like what I get at BD’s, only homemade and much cheaper!

I threw the veggies on first to let them brown a bit before putting the shrimp in (they were thawed from frozen and are already fully cooked).

I swear, I thought I took a picture of my bowl, but it’s not here — I must’ve gotten really excited to eat, haha. It tasted really good but much like the pizza, I’m looking forward to the leftovers that have a chance to sit in that buffalo sauce for a while ๐Ÿ˜‰ I just checked and the sauce I use has no sugar (they use xanthan gum)! I didn’t even know…cool.

I’d better go, I gotta go yell at my husband who is playing Guitar Hero laying down…that’s just not cool…or rock ‘n roll. Good night!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on August 3, 2009, in Breakfast, Dinner, exercise, hummus, leftovers, Lunch, oatmeal, pizza, products, Snacks, workouts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I am seriously jumping for joy! One I get a shout out and TWO you are back to blogging your eats! Oh how I missed looking at your page for inspiration =) today IS a good day =)

    Dumb Question Below.
    I don’t want to eat a whole Banana in the morning before my workout but I want to save it for the next day, does it go bad??? I am scared that the other half will turn brown =/…what do you do???? Like I said, dumb question lol

    • What I have done the past couple of days (since my bananas are huge and I don’t want to eat a whole one either!) is I cut it in half and then put the other half in a plastic baggie in the fridge. It does get just slightly brown in the center but not very much. Putting them in the fridge is the key ๐Ÿ˜‰ Not a dumb question at all. Also, sometimes I put the other half in the freezer to save for a smoothie!

  2. What a great way to workout with a buddy! I may steal your idea for when the kids start back to school in a couple weeks…a friend of mine and I are talking about taking one day to do gym and groceries, since y0u know the only decent gym and grocery store is in Poplar Bluff, 40 mi away. But that sounds like a really fun thing to do with a buddy!

    Your stir fry looks delish! I LOVE LOVE LOVE shrimp in anything or nothing! I swear I could eat my weight in peel n eat…oi vey. In a good way.

    Love ya, girlie! Have a good Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

